h1

Chocolate Oatmeal M&M Cookies

July 23, 2011

We got back from vacation this morning. After we got all our unpacking and laundry done Reinman took a snooze on the couch and I decided I wanted to make some chocolate chip cookies. Problem was I didn’t have any chocolate chips. All I had was cocoa powder, M&Ms, and oatmeal. So, I thought why not throw those three things together and see what happens. Well, here’s what happened: basically, I got cookies that tasted like brownies with oatmeal in them. Not horrible, but not the best cookie I’ve ever made. The recipe will be at the end of this post. I’m sure some of you could definitely tweak this and make it better. Let me know if you do!

Everything you’ll need

Cream together your butter, egg, sugar, and vanilla.

In a separate bowl mix your flour, cinnamon, cocoa powder, salt, and baking powder.

Mix your dry ingredients into your wet ones. Mmm... brownie batter.

Add your oatmeal...

Add your M&Ms. I used the mini ones.

Then I put the dough in the fridge for a half hour. Bake at 350 for 10 minutes and there ya go! Poop-looking cookies. Haha. Really though, they taste better than they look.

The Joker sat patiently while I made the cookies, so I had to give her one. By the time I took these pictures she was well on her way to eating a second cookie. The little sneak! At least I know someone will eat them up.

Chocolate Oatmeal M&M Cookies

  • 1 stick of butter (1/4 cup), softened
  • 2/3 cup of packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup of mini m&ms

Cream the butter, brown sugar, vanilla, and egg together in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, salt, cocoa powder, and cinnamon together. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ones. Add your oatmeal and M&Ms or whatever you prefer. Refrigerate for at least 30  minutes. Use a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and put your cookies 2 inches apart. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes until the edges are slightly browned and the middle still looks a little undercooked. Leave on pan for 5 minutes before moving to a baking rack.

— the Jilb

2 comments

  1. They do look yummy! And with Bella’s seal of approval, too! Unfortunately, the scale told me I’ve let my guard down for at least a week if not a month, so this grandma won’t be eating any cookies (or donuts or desserts, etc.) for awhile. Grrr!


    • They aren’t too bad. I ate 3 yesterday just to make sure. Ha! I gained a couple lbs during vacation too so I need to watch it a little more also.



Leave a Reply

