h1

Pizza Party!

August 8, 2011

I’ve been wanting to try out this honey pizza dough recipe. It makes a ton of dough so at first I planned on freezing most of it, but then we decided to have Reinman’s siblings over and that was the perfect excuse to have a pizza party and make a ton of individual pizzas!

The dough turned out perfect, and I am planning on making it again today. My favorite part of the dough is that it has honey. Yum!

I made the dough and let it rise like it says for 30 minutes, and let me tell you it rises in no time at all! I made it in the morning thinking that dough can takes hours to rise, which sometimes it does. But this dough did not — it really only took the 30 minutes and it was ready to go! Next time I make this I am going to make it an hour before dinner.

I baked the dough for a few minutes first and then it was time to put on some toppings! The Princess is very particular when it comes to food. All she put on her pizza was sauce, cheese, a few slices of pepperoni, and 3 pineapple chunks. I’m sad to say that she didn’t eat her pizza, but that’s nothing new. Anytime we have company the Princess is easily distracted and would rather be playing than eating.

The Joker put pretty much everything on her pizza: sauce, cheese, pepperoni, pineapple, green peppers, and sausage. And then she ate it all after she took off the peppers and pineapple and put them on my plate. Silly girl.

The Bear is more like the Princess. Only a few things on his pizza: sauce, cheese, pepperoni, and sausage. And also like his big sister, he would rather be playing than eating when people are over. And then he likes to tell me 10 minutes later how hungry he is. This is a daily spectacle in our house. Sigh.

I think I need to work on making my pizza crusts more circular. Ha!

Mike’s ginormous pizza, topped with everything:

The kids enjoying their pizza:

Honey Pizza Dough

Recipe from Simple Bites

  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons dry yeast
  • 5 cups bread flour (I didn’t have bread flour, so I used all-purpose and added some while I kneaded it and it worked out fine)
  •  1 1/2 cups cool water
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  1. In a large bowl, mix warm water and yeast until dissolved. Then let stand.
  2. Add the flour, cool water, salt, olive oil, and honey into yeast mixture. Knead by hand for 7 minutes (or a dough hook for 5).
  3. Place the dough in a well-greased bowl, cover with a clean kitchen towel, and let rise for 30 minutes.
  4. Punch down dough and divide into 16 portions (for individual pizzas) or 4 portions (for 4- 16′ pizzas). You can either use your dough right away or freeze it. If you freeze it, make sure you take it out 8-12 before you use it and let thaw in refrigerator. Let rise until doubled and punch down to size, then use.

— the Jilb

3 comments

  1. You are so brave to try things with yeast….I have failed more than succeeded when it comes to using yeast in recipes. It makes a TON of dough…..as a suggestion, you could use the dough and make calzones, bake them and then stick them in the freezer.
    Ahhhhh, pizza, who doesn’t like that!
    Mom


    • I’ve had success except for those hamburger buns. It’s been so hot lately though, maybe that helps with rising? I don’t mind freezing the dough and then pulling one out here and there for when we want pizza, which is like every week.


  2. […] Money Saving Mom (Another coupon website, but she also has a lot of DIY things that I love, like the homemade pizza dough talked about here.) […]



Leave a Reply

