h1

Yummy Homemade Mac and Cheese

August 17, 2011

20110817-113341.jpg

This morning I was thinking about what to make the kiddies for lunch. I was getting sick of grilled cheese. We were out of frozen pizza. I sort of wanted macaroni and cheese, but not the boxed kind. So, naturally homemade mac and cheese came to mind. Yummy!

I used what I had on hand: leftover pizza cheese from last night (mozzarella and provolone), a half block of sharp cheddar, mustard, leftover heavy cream from this past weekend, and since I was out of butter (gasp!) I used Country Crock (whatever that is?). And it all worked out.

The kids loved it. The Princess kept telling me, “Mommy, this is num.” Then the Bear would copy her and say the same thing. And then he would say, “I love it!,” which lately has been his favorite thing to say. Those trucks he pushes around? “I love it!” McDonald’s? “I love it!” Any movie that happens to be on TV? “I love it!”

20110817-113550.jpg

Homemade Mac and Cheese

recipe inspired by The Pioneer Woman

  • 4 cups of uncooked pasta
  • 1/4 cup of butter (or Country Crock like I used. haha)
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 1/2 cups of milk
  • 1 tsp mustard (PW used dry mustard, but I didn’t have it, so I used the fridge stuff)
  • 3 cups shredded cheese
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  1. Heat oven to 375. Grease a 8×11 baking dish.
  2. Cook pasta only for a few minutes. I did mine for 5. Drain, and set aside.
  3. Beat egg in a small bowl. Set aside.
  4. Melt butter in a large pot over medium-low heat. Add flour. Cook for 5 minutes stirring continuously.
  5. Pour in milk, heavy cream, and mustard. Whisk until smooth. Cook for another 5 minutes until very thick. Reduce heat to low.
  6. Take 1/4 cup of sauce and add it to beaten egg. Whisk until smooth. Add egg mixture into sauce and mix until smooth.
  7. Add in 2 cups of cheese (saving 1 cup for topping) and stir until smooth. Add salt, pepper, and paprika. Mix again.
  8. Pour in cooked, drain pasta and stir until combined.
  9. Pour into greased baking dish, add leftover cheese and bread crumbs on top, and bake 20 minutes until golden brown.

20110817-113350.jpg

— the Jilb

2 comments

  1. Looks familiar! We must get you some dry mustard, tho –


    • Yeah, I probably should get some of that one of these days…



Leave a Reply

