h1

Slow Cooker Brown Sugar Chicken

September 19, 2011

With this cold weather, I figured it was time to get out the crock pot. And I’m glad I did! Last night I made Brown Sugar Chicken. I got the recipe from the blog Crockpot 365, which has a ton crock pot recipes. If you like using a crock pot, I would highly recommend checking out that blog.

Anyways, this recipe was awesome. Sugary, chickeny, goodness. Yum. A recipe I will definitely make again.

20110918-045440.jpg

Slow Cooker Brown Sugar Chicken

recipe slightly adapted from Crockpot 365

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless chicken breasts (I used frozen)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup diet coke
  • 2/3 cup vinegar
  • 3 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1 tsp ground pepper

Directions:

  1. Put your chicken in your crock pot.
  2. Cover with brown sugar, pepper, garlic, and soy sauce. Add the vinegar, and pour in the coke. Yum!
  3. Cover, and cook on low for 6-9 hours, or high from 4-5.
  4. Serve over a bowl of white rice with some of that yummy broth.

On a side note, don’t do what I did. I gave our two-year-old twins rice. And, of course, they just dumped the rice EVERYWHERE. So, please, don’t give young children rice. It just isn’t right.

20110918-045455.jpg

— the Jilb

6 comments

  1. I so understand the rice thing, but on a good note they do master it eventually. Tip, use a bowl it helps a little. This sounds good, but watching my carbohydrate intake adding sugar to my chicken isn’t an option. I would rather save it for the sweets I so love. I enjoy your blog.


    • Thanks, Tania!

      Yeah, the sugar thing was kind of crazy but boy was it good! I’m trying out another crock pot recipe today that includes chicken, pesto, and mozzarella cheese. And sweet potatoes. Yum!

      I know they’ll get the rice thing eventually. It’s just such a mess!!


  2. I love your recipes…I’m going to try this one out. I’m getting a “to die for” blueberry/white choc. chip/granola bar recipe and will share it with you.


    • Thanks, Mom!

      Yes, share that granola bar recipe. Sounds yummy!!


  3. The recipe sounds like a “sweet and sour” to me – delicious! I’ll have to unearth my crockpot sometime soon, too.


    • It had kind of a teriyaki flavor, which I love!! Crock pots are so nice and handy to have. Love them!



Leave a Reply

