h1

Tortellini Soup

September 28, 2011

Last night I made tortellini soup. This soup is a favorite in our house. When football starts, and the weather cools off, we tend to have this soup once a week or so. It’s so yummy!

20110927-165743.jpg

This recipe is from BeckyMom. It was introduced to me a few years ago during lunch (and football) and I was hooked. Thanks, BeckyMom!

20110927-165749.jpg

20110927-165756.jpg

Tortellini Soup

recipe from BeckyMom

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 2 strips of bacon, cut up
  • 1 pkg cheese tortellini
  • 1 (28 oz) can of crushed tomatoes
  • 48 oz chicken broth
  • 1 T Italian seasoning
  • Parmesan cheese, garnish
  • Spinach, garnish (which I forgot to add)

Directions:

  1. Cook tortellini according to package directions, and set aside.
  2. Cook bacon, and then add onion and garlic until sauteed. Add chicken broth and seasoning, bring to a boil, and let simmer for 5 minutes.
  3. Add cooked tortellini and tomatoes to broth mixture, bring to a boil, and let simmer for another 5 minutes.
  4. Ladle soup into bowls, garnish with parmesan cheese, and spinach, and enjoy!

— the Jilb

8 comments

  1. Looks wonderful….when I’m there for lunch today, maybe I can have a bowl….if there’s any left!


    • Sorry, Mom, Aaron took the leftovers to work. And the leftovers aren’t as quite as good as the same night stuff. Guess you’ll have to make it some night!


  2. This is a family favorite for us as well. I make the soup a little different, but tortellini soup is very good! I vowed to myself I would not bake this week Jill. It is killing me, lol.


    • I think anything with tortellini would be excellent! Lol.

      No baking for a week? That would kill me for sure. I’m just thinking about making some mini baked apple donuts. Good luck!!


  3. I agree with Jill – anything with tortellini in it has to be good! It was actually a recipe that was introduced to me by my mom who probably found it in a woman’s magazine. It’s a keeper!!!


    • I wondered where you got the recipe from. Now I know!


  4. I can’t wait to try this! It looks so good and easy to make.


    • It’s all those things, and so yummy!! Hope you like it! 🙂



Leave a Reply

