h1

An Almost Kid-Free Weekend, Packing, and a Movie Date

October 3, 2011

This weekend was a busy one for our little family. While the kids spent most of the weekend with my mom (thanks, Mom!), Reinman and I spent the weekend packing and moving. We found a nice little house to rent that’ll fit our family perfectly, so the packing started.

While we packed the kids’ toys (shh.. don’t tell them), and moved them to our new place, Grandma Sue had the pleasure of entertaining the kids with walks in the woods, popcorn and a movie, and baths in her whirlpool tub.

And then yesterday Reinman and I did something that we hardly ever do. We saw a movie. During the day. Crazy, I tell ya. We saw What’s Your Number? I don’t recommend it. It was kind of stupid. So, please, don’t go see it. In fact, I should probably lie and tell you we saw Dolphin Tale. Yep. That’s what we saw. Good movie, that one. I recommend it to everyone, especially if you like dolphins.

So, we packed. We moved some boxes. The Princess, the Bear, and the Joker spent Saturday night at my mom’s. The Baby stayed with us. We went to church on Sunday, and got McDonald’s for lunch because I am addicted to that Monopoly game. Stupid game. I did win a free McFlurry though. Yay! We did some more packing. And then the kids went out to Reinman’s grandparent’s house to pick some potatoes and carrots.

They came home all dirty and sandy, and loved every minute of it. I made some homemade olive oil pizza dough, and spent the rest of the night trying to convince the kids that my name is “mommy” and not “grandma.” They get confused every time they see their grandmas. Those funny kids.

— the Jilb

8 comments

  1. It’s all about making memories. The kids are fortunate, although they don’t know that yet, that they have all of their grandparents around them to spend time and share in all they do!


  2. Ditto what Grandma Sue said 🙂


  3. “Dolphin Tale” was awesome! I sure loved that one part when the dolphin…told a tale…


    • I know! Best dolphin movie ever.


  4. Don’t worry; they call me Grandma occasionally too


  5. […] weekend, the Jilb and I saw What’s Your Number? (not Dolphin Tale as the Jilb claimed in Monday’s post — that was a trick). The trailers I’d seen beforehand had hit all the usual cliches […]



Leave a Reply

