h1

Mini Cinnamon & Sugar Apple Muffins

October 5, 2011

Apples and muffins! The perfect fall treat. Or breakfast. Or afternoon snack. Really you can eat these little babies any time of day.

20110928-101209.jpg

I had some apples that I really needed to use up. I could do apple crisp, but honestly, I was getting kind of sick of that. So, I found, I think the next best thing (besides apple pie, of course): mini cinnamon & sugar apple muffins. These are sweet, and a little bit tangy, and you get a taste of apple in each bite, which is wonderful!

20110928-101215.jpg

Mini Cinnamon & Sugar Apple Muffins

recipe adapted from Baked By Jen

Ingredients:

  • 1/8 cup brown sugar
  • 1/8 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cups of apples, peeled, cored, and bite sized
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease mini muffin pan. Set aside.
  2. Mix sugars, flour, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt until combined. Add in cold butter with a pastry cutter, and work until you get a coarse crumbly dough.
  3. In another bowl, beat your egg. Add milk, and chopped apples. Add apple mixture to flour mixture until just mixed. Be careful not to over mix it.
  4. Place a tablespoon of each batter into mold in pan. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until golden brown.
  5. Dunk muffin into butter and then cinnamon/sugar mix. You can do the whole muffin or just the tops like I did. Eat immediately!

These muffins were really yummy, and I will definitely make them again, especially since we always seem to have apples on hand.

— the Jilb

4 comments

  1. These are the best.


    • I’m glad you like them. 🙂


  2. These look amazing! I think I am going to try them this weekend- I just went to an apple orchard a few days ago and only have a few apples left, but I think I just found their destiny….
    Stop by and check out my blog: http://inmyyellowkitchen.wordpress.com/ 🙂


    • Thanks for stopping by!

      Going to an apple orchard sounds awesome. I bet you made lots of yummy things with those apples you picked.



Leave a Reply

