h1

Lemony Cream Cheese Cookies

October 24, 2011

I’ve never made a cookie that had cream cheese in it before. I’ve had cream cheese frosting though, of course. Yum! I thought it was time to bake something that didn’t have chocolate chips or pumpkin in it. Boy, am I glad I did.

Anyways, these cookies are light, cheesy (is that good in a cookie? Yes!), and have a touch of lemon. They’re easy to make, and have only a few ingredients.

I used half a lemon and some lemon zest in these cookies. Before I baked them I add some grated lemon zest on some of the cookies. While they looked pretty, I thought the cookies tasted too lemony.

20111023-100527.jpg

And then I tried some lemon zest mixed with raw sugar. I didn’t like the crunch that I got from the sugar, and still too lemony.

20111023-101253.jpg

So, then I tried rolling the cookies into a ball, dipping them in granulated sugar, and pressing them down a tiny bit to get the look for a normal sugar cookie. And I left some other ones how the recipe called for: dropped, no pressing down, and nothing on top. The verdict? I can’t really decide between the two. I like how the rolled ones look with the sugar, but there’s something about that rustic look of a drop cookie. Plus, with the drop cookie you get a little bit of a crunch, and that, my friends, is very yummy.

20111023-101302.jpg

Either way you go, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised. And, please, make yourself a cup of coffee to go with these beauties. You won’t be sorry.

20111023-101309.jpg

Lemony Cream Cheese Cookies

recipe adapted from Food52

Ingredients:

  • 3 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 8 T butter at room temp
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • zest and juice of half a lemon
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • extra granulated sugar, if wanted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.
  2. Cream your cream cheese, butter, and sugar together until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add in your lemon zest and lemon juice. Mix well.
  3. Add in your flour, and salt, and mix until everything is incorporated.
  4. Here’s where you can be creative (or really in any part of this recipe you can add what you want. It’s that flexible.). If you want the drop cookie look, just use a tablespoon, scoop some dough out, and plop that on the cookie sheet. If you want the nicer, sugar cookie look, use a tablespoon, scoop out some dough, roll it in a ball, press down a little bit, and dip into sugar, and put that on the cookie sheet
  5. Bake 10-12 minutes, until lightly browned, and then let cool on cookie sheet for a few minutes before moving to a wire rack.
  6. Enjoy! (Like I have to tell you that.)

And, please, if you make these cookies let me know. I’d like to see hear what people think, and if they made any changes.

— the Jilb

Leave a Reply

