h1

Rosemary Bread

November 3, 2011

I used to make this rosemary bread all the time when Reinman and I were first married. And then I forgot about it. And then I remembered about it again. I’m so glad I did. I love it, and want to eat it everyday! Yummm!

It is a yeast bread, which means you have to let it rise for awhile, but it’s really pretty easy. And it’s worth it.

Before rising

After rising. Look at it! Yum!

This recipe made enough for our family of 6, counting 4 kids, so if you need more you might want to double the recipe.

Ready for the oven

Fresh out of the oven

20111031-102100.jpg

Rosemary Bread

recipe adapted from Food.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 T yeast
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 T butter, softened, and divided
  • 1 T rosemary, chopped
  • kosher salt for sprinkling (or more rosemary)

Directions:

  1. Put yeast, sugar, and warm water in a large bowl and allow mixture to become bubbly.
  2. Mix in 1 T of butter, salt and 2 cups of flour.
  3. Add in rosemary.
  4. Knead for about 10 minutes by hand, or 5 minutes in a food processor or kitchen aid. Dough should be elastic and smooth.
  5. Add more flour if needed.
  6. Oil a separate bowl, put dough in it, and cover with a towel.
  7. Let dough rise in a warm place for about an hour until doubled. (I put my oven on to 200 degrees, shut it off, and left my dough in there. Worked perfectly!)
  8. Punch down dough and divide it in half.
  9. Let dough rest about 5 minutes.
  10. Spray a baking sheet or pan with non stick spray, or use parchment paper.
  11. Shape your dough into 2 round loaves, and put on baking sheet.
  12. Melt your remaining 1 T of butter, and brush it on loaves, and then sprinkle kosher salt on top (or more rosemary if you want).
  13. Let loaves rise again until doubled, about 45 minutes.
  14. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  15. Bake for 15-20 minutes until golden brown.
  16. Enjoy!!

20111031-102005.jpg

This bread is very yummy, and a crowd pleaser. I have a feeling I’ll be making it once a week (not that I’m complaining :)).

— the Jilb

4 comments

  1. I give you credit for trying ANYTHING made with YEAST! Good job Jilly! Looks delicious!


    • It almost seems fool proof. I just love to bake, and cook!! ๐Ÿ™‚


  2. How is it we’ve never eaten any of this?!? (kidding :)) I’ll seriously need to make this-maybe this weekend!


    • Haha! I made it again today, and told Aaron that if we have you guys over and make it I’ll have to double the recipe.

      I haven’t made it in a long time. Probably why you haven’t had any. ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

