Peppermint Mocha

December 1, 2011

Happy December! I seriously can’t believe Christmas is almost here. This past year has just flown by.

Reinman and I spend way too much money buying lattes at Caribou and Starbucks, so when I find a recipe to DIY, I get so excited! I found this recipe over at The Motherload where I can always find my favorite seasonal drink. I love it! I did tweak the recipe it a bit because I’ve been wanting my drinks less sweet lately.

There’s also a recipe for homemade peppermint syrup, and if you plan on making peppermint mochas you definitely should make it. It’s simple, cheap, and you probably have all the ingredients right on hand. I’ll have that recipe at the end of this post.


Peppermint Mocha

recipe slightly adapted from The Motherload


  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 cup of strong coffee or espresso
  • 1-2 T sugar
  • 1 T cocoa powder
  • 1-2 T peppermint syrup (recipe to follow or you can buy this syrup at your local grocery store or even Caribou Coffee or Starbucks)
  • whipped cream (optional)
  • chocolate syrup (optional)
  • crushed peppermints (optional)


  1. Put your milk in a small pan and heat oven medium-low until hot. Don’t let your milk boil or it gets icky.
  2. While your milk is heating up, brew your coffee. We have a Keurig so I put as much coffee grounds in my reusable pod as I can fit and brew it on the smallest setting. Otherwise, 4 T of ground coffee to 1 cup of hot water should suffice. Add your sugar and cocoa powder, mix well. Then add in your peppermint syrup.
  3. Once milk is hot, I like to whisk it for like 30 seconds or so to get it foamy. Once you’re done with that add it to your coffee and mix well.
  4. Top with whipped cream, chocolate syrup, and peppermints if you wish.
  5. Enjoy!

Homemade Peppermint Syrup


  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsps peppermint extract


  1. In a small saucepan, stir together you water and sugar and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and stir constantly until sugar is dissolved. Stir in the peppermint extract. Let cool, and then store in a glass jar in the refrigerator for up to 3 months.

— the Jilb

Leave a Reply

