Brown Butter Brown Sugar Cookies

December 11, 2011

Today Reinman and I got some time away from the kids, and did some shopping, eating, and saw the ballet The Nutcracker. The ballet was fantastic, and, honestly, even if it wasn’t I still would have went anyways. It really is nice to get some grown up time, and talk about things besides poopy diapers, what’s for dinner that night, and who’s going to do the dishes.


We went to Buffalo Wild Wings for lunch, and loved it! We had never been there so we sampled a bunch of different wings, and so far my favorite are the chipotle bbq. Yum!


So, I’ve got another cookie recipe for you. Something a little different. You use brown butter in it, which really gives this cookie a nutty taste, and there are no nuts! And it makes your house smell wonderful. I mean, I was drooling while baking these things. They smelled that good.


I know you’re not supposed to eat cookie dough, but that never stops me. I admit I ate a handful of this dough. I really couldn’t help myself.

So, if you want to make something different, give these cookies a try. I guarantee you they won’t disappoint!


Brown Butter, Brown Sugar Cookies

recipe from The Novice Chef


  • 8 T butter
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, plus 2 T
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsps. vanilla extract
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 2 T granulated sugar


  1. Heat butter in a small sauce pan, over medium heat until melted. Continue cooking butter, stirring as needed, until it takes on a light brown color. You will see small dark brown spots on the bottom of your pan, and the butter will give off a nutty smell when it’s done. Remove butter from heat, transfer to a small bowl, and let cool completely, about 20 minutes or so.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  3. In a small bowl combine the 2 T brown sugar, and 2 T granulated sugar. Mash with a fork until well combined. Set aside.
  4. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
  5. Add 1 cup brown sugar to butter, and mix until combined. Add the egg and vanilla, and mix until there are no lumps. Add flour mixture, and mix until combined.
  6. Roll about 1 & 1/2 T of dough in your hand, and then roll around in the sugar mixture. Set on lined baking sheet, leaving two inches between cookies.
  7. Bake 10-12 minutes, rotating the cookie sheet halfway through. The cookies will be done when the edges are light brown, and the middle will look undercooked, but the cookies will be fine after resting.
  8. Let cookies cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes, before moving them to a wire rack.
  9. *Original recipe edits: She said that some people were getting flat cookies, so she recommended putting your dough in the fridge for a half hour before baking. I think I’ll try this next time. I don’t mind that my cookies were a little flat though, so we’ll see. And she said that her cookies tasted the best 12 hours after baking. I can attest to this: they do seem to taste better after sitting overnight. Either way, they are super yummy!

— the Jilb


  1. thanks for sharing Jill…I am going to try these for sure!!!

    • Let me know how you like them. I just ate another one right out of the freezer, and they still are so yummy! :)

Leave a Reply

