h1

Football Food: Ham and Cheese Sliders

January 6, 2012

I’ve decided to dedicate Friday posts to Football Food until the Super Bowl. So, for the next 4 Fridays I’ll have football friendly food for you all. The first up: Ham and Cheese Sliders!

I found these babies over at Annie’s Eats. The same food blog that I got my Turkey Pesto Sliders from. Annie’s got a ton of fun and yummy food over at her site. I highly suggest you check her out.

I made a few changes to her recipe. I couldn’t find sliders buns, so I just used regular buns from the deli section. Our grocery stores typically have slider buns during the summer, so I’ll be making them again once it starts to get warm out! I’ve made these sandwiches twice: once using deli ham, and the second time using real ham. They both taste excellent but I think I prefer the deli ham a little bit more. What’s pictured today is the real ham.

Anyways, I think these little guys would be perfect for the Super Bowl or for any football game. They’re easy to assemble, you can make them ahead of time, they make a ton, and they are SO good! Seriously, this is probably the best sandwich I’ve made ever. It’s true.

Ham and Cheese Sliders

recipe from Annie’s Eats

Ingredients:

  • 24 slider rolls (I used 12 regular rolls)
  • 24 slices deli ham (I used 1 container of deli ham per 12 rolls)
  • 24 small Swiss cheese slices (I used big Swiss cheese slices, and put half a slice of cheese on each sandwich. Next time: more cheese!)
  • Mayo

For the sauce:

  • 1 & 1/2 T yellow mustard
  • 8 T butter, melted
  • 1 T onion, finely minced
  • 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • Poppy seeds, for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. (If you are making these ahead of time, leave them in the fridge, and start your oven once you’re ready to bake them).
  2. Split the slider rolls and spread mayo on the inside top of the bun. Fold a slice of ham to fit on each bun, and then top with a piece of cheese. Once you’re done assembling the sandwiches, place them in a baking dish.
  3. Now you make the sauce. Melt your butter, and then add the mustard, onion, and Worcestershire sauce to it. Mix thoroughly. Then drizzle the sauce over the top of the buns. Sprinkle with poppy seeds.
  4. Cover with foil, and bake for 10 minutes. (I found that if my sandwiches had been sitting in the fridge all day, they needed almost 20 minutes to bake or until the ham was hot.) Once your cheese is melted, take off foil, and bake for another 2 minutes.
  5. Enjoy!!

— the Jilb

4 comments

  1. I want one. I want one RIGHT NOW.


  2. They were a big, big hit on New Year’s Eve! I know they were gone well before midnight 😉


    • I know! I limited myself to two, but really wanted like five! Haha.



Leave a Reply

