h1

Football Food: Tebow Cupcakes!

January 13, 2012

I am so excited to bring this recipe to you guys! I had so, so much fun making these, and I bet you will too! I present to you, my friends: Tebow Cupcakes!

We love Tim Tebow in this house. After the Broncos crazy win last Saturday I immediately started to think about what kind of food I could make for tomorrow’s game, and these babies were born!

I used this cupcake and frosting recipe for the Baby’s birthday back in November, but tweaked the colors a bit to suit my fancy. And, really, you could use any colors you like: green and yellow, purple and gold, or whatever you want. This cupcake recipe is super easy. You start with a cake mix and add a few things to it, bake it like normal, and you’re done. The frosting recipe is also pretty easy.

Tebow Cupcakes

recipe from Our Best Bites

Ingredients:

For the cake:

  • 1 white cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream (or yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/3 vegetable oil

For the frosting:

  • 6 T flour
  • 1 cup milk (whole milk is best, but non-fat is okay, too)
  • 1 cup real butter
  • 1 cup sugar (granulated, not powdered)
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

For the cupcake:

  1. Mix your cake mix, eggs, sour cream, milk, and vegetable oil in a large bowl. Beat for 1-2 minutes on medium-high speed.
  2. Divide your batter into how many colors you want. I used two colors so it was quite easy. When I made the Baby’s birthday cake, I did four colors, and it ended up to be about a cup and a half of batter in each bowl.
  3. Add food coloring to batter to get your desired color.
  4. If you want the layered stripes like I have you just put a spoonful of each batter into each cupcake tin. The batter is thick, so you’ll have to spread it on your own. I put out a bowl of water and dip my finger into the water and then spread the batter around that way. It won’t stick to your finger, and you’ll get a nice, layered look.
  5. Bake your cupcakes according to box directions. Then let them cool.

For the frosting:

  1. Whisk your flour and milk together in a medium-sized sauce pan on medium heat. Whisk constantly until your flour mixture starts to thicken. Once your flour mixture is almost like a paste it’s done.
  2. Next, using a mesh strainer and a spatula push the flour paste into a bowl to get all the lumps out. Then put this in the fridge until it’s cool.
  3. Then beat your sugar and butter together for a minute until well-combined. Then add your flour mixture and vanilla extract and beat on medium-high for 7-8 minutes until you have a beautiful, fluffy frosting! If you eat a little bit, I promise not to tell.

To decorate the cupcakes:

  1. I took half of the frosting and separated it into two bowls, and added my food coloring. So, you’ll have three bowls of frosting: your white, and your two colors.
  2. To get the swirly effect I added half of the white frosting to one side of a pastry bag fitted with a tip. Then I filled the other side of the pastry bag with one of my colors. I piped a test streak to make sure I got the swirled colors, and there ya go! And once I was done with those colors, I repeated with the other ones.
  3. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

6 comments

  1. What bakery did they come from????? Wow…they REALLY look awesome! I bet they’re going to be great too! Keep them away from the kids………

    Mom


    • Haha. The Jilb’s Bakery. Hehe. Yeah, they taste really good. We shared one yesterday. 🙂


  2. Keep those decorating skills honed for June, Jill! By the 30th you probably won’t want to look at another cupcake!


    • Haha, we’ll see! I just love decorating cupcakes! Even more than eating them, I think. 🙂


  3. This is really cute! We love Tebow at our house too 🙂
    -Ashley

    http://pencilleddaydream.wordpress.com



Leave a Reply

