Football Food: Buffalo Chicken Bites

January 20, 2012

I’ve never really been into spicy foods. I think a lot of that has to do with the fact that I’ve been constantly (okay, maybe not constantly, but pretty close!) pregnant for the last 4 years, and was always afraid that spicy foods would bug the baby. With one bite of a buffalo chicken wing, all that changed.

BeckyMom brought over her super yummy Buffalo Chicken Wings for our New Years Eve party. I ate one and decided it was still too spicy. After everyone left the party, I realized there was still a ton of wings, so I ate one. Then two. Three. You get the picture. I ate them all except three that I left for Reinman. I was hooked.

So, I’ve been on the hunt for Buffalo recipes. I found these. And they are awesome! They are a little bit of work, but as soon as I ate one I was in love. Any annoyances with these were soon forgotten. So, go. Make them. Everyone will love you for it. Guaranteed.

Buffalo Chicken Bites

recipe from Pennies on a Platter


  • 3 cups chicken, cooked and shredded
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup hot sauce (I did 1/2 cup, but you can do more or less if you want!)
  • 3 & 1/2 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 & 3/4 cups sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 cup green onions, sliced (I left these out)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 3-4 cups corn flakes cereal, crushed


  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, mix your chicken, cream cheese and hot sauce until combined. Add in your cheddar cheese and onions.
  3. Using an ice cream scoop, spoon out the chicken mixture and roll into balls (I used my hands to get them to stay together really well.) Place on a separate baking sheet until ready to dip.
  4. In three separate bowls, set out your flour, eggs, and corn flakes. Dip each chicken ball into the flour, then the egg, and then the corn flakes. Place on lined baking sheet and bake 20-25 minutes.
  5. Serve warm with ranch or blue cheese dressing.
  6. Enjoy!
  7. Note: I haven’t tried it, but you can freeze these. Put your dipped chicken balls (not cooked) on your lined baking sheet and flash freeze for 15 to 20 minutes. Transfer to a freezer bag and leave in freezer until ready to use. To bake, place the frozen chicken balls back on a lined baking sheet, and bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

— the Jilb


  1. These are totally worth the effort – everyone was trying to be polite and save some for Penny and Mark, but the later it got, the more these little bites disappeared until there were 2 left. It was decided that Penny and Mark weren’t really going to show up, anyway, so…

    • I know! I love them. Can’t wait to have them again. :)

Leave a Reply

