h1

Better Than Sex Cookies (or Turtle Cookies)

January 25, 2012

You can call these cookies whatever you want, but I will tell you one thing: They are the best cookies I have ever made!

My favorite cake by far is the Better Than Sex Cake. I love it, and will eat half of a pan if I make it. So, we don’t have it very often.

Last week I got to thinking about that cake. And then I wondered if there was a cookie recipe similar to it. And there isn’t. Can you believe that?! I couldn’t believe it. Well, friends, there is now a Better Than Sex Cookie recipe. And you should all make them. And then give them away before you gain 5 lbs.

The cookie recipe I found and used is basically a Devil’s Food Cake mix with a Rolo in it. How genius is that?! And then I started to think about what type of frosting I wanted. I knew I wanted something similar to Cool Whip, but I wanted and needed an icing or frosting that would hold up on a cookie. And I found it. I tweaked it a bit by adding some sweetened condensed milk because, you know, that’s what goes in the cake. Yum!

So, you have a caramel cookie cooled and slightly warm, add your frosting, some warm caramel sauce on top of that, some toffee bits to top it off, and you have yourself some Better Than Sex Cookies. Sigh.

Better Than Sex Cookies

recipe adapted from Very Culinary and Food.com

Ingredients:

for the cookies:

  • 1 box Devil’s Food Cake Mix, sifted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • Rolos (12 oz bag)

for the frosting:

  • 1 tsp. unflavored gelatin
  • 4 tsps. cold water
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1-2 T sweetened condensed milk (I used 2 T but it depends on how sweet you want your frosting)
  • Caramel sauce (I had this one on hand or you could use store bought ice cream caramel sauce)
  • toffee bits

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and set aside.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix your cake mix, eggs, and vegetable oil. Your mixture will be thick, no worries. Take about a 1/2 tablespoon of your cookie dough, and form a ball around the Rolo.
  3. Place on a cookie sheet, and bake for 10 minutes. Once out of the oven press cookie down lightly. Let cool for a few minutes on your cookie sheet, and then move to a wire rack.
  4. To make the frosting: In a small sauce pan mix your gelatin and cold water; let stand until thick.
  5. Place over low heat, and constantly mix gelatin until it dissolves. Remove from heat, and allow to cool.
  6. While that is cooling, whip your cream and powdered sugar until slightly thick. Add your gelatin, and mix again. If you get clumps after you add the gelatin, mix it more and if need be throw those chunks out. (You could leave the gelatin out completely, but I’m not sure how the frosting would be without it. I have a feeling the frosting wouldn’t be as firm.)
  7. Add your sweetened condensed milk to the whip cream mixture. Whip at high speed until you get stiff peaks.
  8. Warm up your caramel sauce, and after the cookies are cooled, top them with frosting, then caramel sauce, and finally with toffee bits.
  9. Enjoy! And try not to die of happiness.

— the Jilb

8 comments

  1. I sure hope there’s a crumb left for grandma Sue when I’m there at lunch today! They look delicious!


  2. Sorry, Mom. I actually made these last week and took them to MOPS on Friday. I brought home two, which lasted like 2 minutes in this house. 🙂 Maybe next time because you know I’ll be making them again.


  3. Genius! I’ll have to give those cookies a try!


  4. (this is Curt’s girlfriend)- these look SOOOO good! what a fabulous idea! I’ll have to get creative and tweak them so I can eat them without worry of Curt’s nut allergy. mmm. I shared the recipe with my mom too, THANKS!


    • Hi, Kelly! Nice to “meet” you! Hehe.

      There shouldn’t be any nuts in these cookies. Maybe you were thinking the toffee bits were peanuts? So, you should be good to go!! 🙂


  5. I just Pinned your Turtle Toffee Cookies – looking forward to making them!


    • Thanks, Andrea! Let me know how you like them! 🙂



Leave a Reply

