h1

Caramel Apple Pork Chops

February 8, 2012

Last week pork chops were on-sale, so I picked some up. I have never baked or done anything with them except have Reinman throw them on the grill during the summer. So, I was kind of at a loss at what to do with them.

My go-to when I need to find a recipe is Allrecipes.com. I love how they have all the reviews right there for you to read. With 1,300 reviews and 4 1/2 out of 5 stars, I knew this pork chop recipe would be a hit. I tweaked it a bit by following some of the reviews that I read, and yep, I was right. This recipe is a definite keeper!

We loved this recipe so much that I made it twice in a week. Reinman told me that these are really good for leftovers. I imagine the sauce the pork chops lay in overnight just make it that much sweeter, and yummier.

So, if you need something new to do with your pork chops (or even if you don’t!), I suggest you give this recipe a try. It’s to die for. And it makes your house smell wonderful! (Which is a definite plus in our house, considering all the diapers we change.)

Caramel Apple Pork Chops

recipe from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup apple juice
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 6 pork chops
  • 6 T brown sugar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 6 T butter
  • 4 tart apples, peeled and sliced
  • 6 T pecans (optional)

Directions:

  1. Put your pork chops in a ziploc baggy and add your apple juice and soy sauce. Put your bag of pork chops in a baking dish, so you catch any leaks. Refrigerate overnight.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. In a large frying pan, cook your pork chops over medium-high heat for 6-7 minutes on each side. Once your pork chops are done, place them in a large baking dish or two depending on how many pork chops you have.
  4. In a small bowl, mix your brown sugar, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
  5. In the same pan you used to cook the pork chops, melt your butter over medium heat. Then add your brown sugar mixture. Then add apples and cook over low heat for 5 minutes or until apples start to get tender.
  6. Pour your caramel apple mixture over your pork chops and cover baking dish with aluminum foil. Bake for 20-25 minutes, and then take the foil off, add your pecans, and bake another 15 minutes or until done.
  7. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

2 comments

  1. I like those “soak and bake” recipes. I’m excited to try this one. Apples and pork have always gone good together. Yummy


  2. I know! So easy, right? Next time I plan on doubling the sauce part because it’s so good!



Leave a Reply

