h1

Chocolate Strawberry Cupcakes

February 10, 2012

I saw these cupcakes on Pinterest awhile ago, and have been waiting to make them until Valentine’s Day was closer. Since that day is almost here, I figured it was time to post this recipe.

The original recipe is on Allrecipes.com. No surprise there! A brownie box mix is used as the bottom of the cupcake and then whatever cake mix you choose goes on top. Going with our Valentine’s theme, I chose a strawberry cake mix.

This cupcake recipe was really easy to put together. A box of brownie mix, a box of cake mix, with whatever frosting you like, and there ya go! The only problem I ran into with this recipe is that on a few of my cupcakes the brownie bottom was still a tad bit gooey. I can’t complain though because it tasted awesome!

I chose my favorite frosting recipe, but made the chocolate version. Oh. My. Goodness. It’s really light, creamy and basically tastes like chocolate mousse. Yum!

A lot of the reviews I read for this cupcake recipe said they used a box of white cake mix and then a peanut butter frosting. I am definitely going to try that next!

Chocolate Strawberry Cupcakes

recipe from Allrecipes.com and Our Best Bites

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

  • 1 (19.5 oz) pkg of brownie mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 (18.25 oz) cake mix, (I chose strawberry, but any would be good!)
  • 2 T vegetable oil
  • 1 & 1/3 cup water
  • 3 egg whites

Chocolate Frosting:

  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 3 T unsweetened cocoa powder (I ended up using 2 more tablespoons at the end.)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • more cocoa powder if you want more chocolate flavor

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line 24 (some got up to 36 cupcakes. I must like big ones!) muffin cups with paper liners.
  2. In a medium-sized bowl, mix your brownie mix, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup vegetable oil, and 1/4 cup water. Mix until it’s all incorporated.
  3. In another bowl, mix the cake mix, 2 T vegetable oil, 1 & 1/3 cup water, and 3 egg whites using an electric mixer until combined. Then mix for another 2 minutes on medium speed.
  4. Here I used an ice cream scoop, and did one scoop of brownie batter for the bottom, and one scoop of cake batter for the top. It makes about 24 cupcakes, with a little bit of cake batter left over that I made into mini strawberry cupcakes for the kids.
  5. Bake for 20 minutes or until the tops spring back when touched. I also recommend using a toothpick to make sure the brownie part is done.
  6. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

4 comments

  1. You’re killing me with these recipes! I see them in the morning and then want one all day long!

    Mom


    • Haha! Well, no worries. There’s no more cupcakes here to tempt you. 🙂


  2. ohhh these look extra yummy and moist!



Leave a Reply

