h1

Compost Cookies

March 5, 2012

I know “compost” is a weird name for a cookie. Don’t be fooled. These cookies are to-die for. Chocolate chips. Crackers. Coffee. Oatmeal. Oh. My. You need to make these now!

The first time I heard about these cookies was while watching Regis and Kelly. Regis was gone for the day, and Anderson Cooper was filling in. He talked about this place in New York called Momofuku Milk Bar, and there they had his favorite cookie, the Compost Cookie. Well, I forgot about this until a few weeks ago when I stumbled across this recipe for the Compost Cookie. I was hooked.

I thought about these cookies for two days straight and finally gave in. I used milk chocolate chips, but I think next time I’ll try them with white chocolate chips since that’s what’s recommended. I used crushed up crackers for the salty portion, and I think next time I’ll add in some crushed up pretzels also.

If you make these, you will not be disappointed. I know I wasn’t. I can’t wait to make them again!

Compost Cookies

recipe from Whisked

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, at room temp.
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 T brown sugar
  • 1/2 T corn syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup and 2 T all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 3/4 cup baking chips (white chocolate chips, semi-sweet, milk, butterscotch…whatever you want)
  • 1/4 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup crushed snack foods (pretzels, crackers, chips…)
  • 1 and 1/2 T coffee granules

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, cream butter, sugars, and corn syrup on medium high speed for 2-3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl.
  2. Add egg and vanilla and mix again on medium high speed for 10 minutes (I did about 7 minutes.).
  3. Add your flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and mix for about a minute or until your dough forms. Be careful not to over mix.
  4. Add in your baking chips, oats, and coffee granules. Mix briefly.
  5. Add in your crushed snack foods and barely mix. You want your dough to stay chunky and you don’t want to break up your salty snacks too much.
  6. Get out a baking sheet and line with parchment paper. Using an ice cream scoop, make your dough into balls, and set on lined baking sheet.
  7. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate at least one hour.
  8. Heat oven to 400 degrees.
  9. Arrange cookies so they have room to spread (I baked 6 cookies at a time) and bake 8-10 minutes or until the edges are brown. (I baked mine for 10 minutes and that was perfect.)
  10. Let cool a few minutes on baking sheet and then move to a wire rack to cool completely.
  11. I got 11 cookies, but probably would have gotten an even dozen if I wouldn’t have eaten any dough. Hehe.
  12. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

2 comments

  1. mouth watering:-)



Leave a Reply

