h1

Triple Chocolate Truffle Cake

March 16, 2012

Today is Reinman’s birthday.

Happy Birthday, Reinman! I love you!

Birthdays mean cake in this house, or cupcakes, pie, basically anything sweet.

I asked Reinman what he wanted for his birthday and he answered, “Whatever you want. I don’t care.”

Tell that to a girl and watch out! Back when I had asked him this we were really into eating Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Truffle (now we LOVE their Sea Salt Soiree–best chocolate ever!!!)

So, I found a recipe and made a Triple Chocolate Truffle Cake. Oh. My. Goodness.

A rich, almost-fudge like cake, with a chocolate ganache poured on top, followed by a sprinkling of white chocolate and then topped with raspberries. I can die happy now.

And the kicker? This cake was sooooo easy to make! You all know how much I love an easy recipe.

The original recipe said that there would be leftover ganache. Well, I didn’t really think about that and poured the whole stinkin’ thing on my cake. Wow. I am so glad I did. There was a river of chocolate circling the cake because of this. Yum!

You know what you need to do. Make this. And soon!

Triple Chocolate Truffle Cake

recipe from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup butter, at room temp.
  • 8 eggs, chilled
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  • while chocolate baking bar, for garnish
  • raspberries, for garnish

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Arrange a rack in the middle of the oven. Butter the bottom and sides of a 9 by 2-inch round cake pan and line the bottom with parchment paper.
  2. In a heatproof bowl over barely boiling water melt the semi-sweet chocolate chips and butter. Stir occasionally until smooth. Let cool a little bit.
  3. While that is going on, in a large bowl add your eggs and salt. Beat with an electric mixer for about 5 minutes or until eggs have doubled in volume. Gently fold the eggs, a third at a time, into your chocolate mixture. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.
  4. Make a water bath for the cake by placing your cake pan in a larger pan, and fill the larger pan with hot water about half way up sides of the cake pan.
  5. Bake for about 40 minutes, or until the cake edges are pulling away and the center is set.
  6. Remove the cake from the water bath, leaving it in its pan, cool on a wire rack. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.
  7. To remove the cake from the pan, dip the bottom of the pan in hot water. Then use a butter knife to release the edges and gently flip over onto a plate or serving dish. Don’t forget to remove the parchment paper.
  8. To make the ganache: in a small saucepan put your heavy cream. Simmer gently for a few minutes.
  9. In a small bowl add your milk chocolate chips. Then add your heavy cream and mix until chips are completely melted.
  10. When the ganache is still warm to the touch, pour over top of cake. Chill for 30 minutes, and then to garnish grate the white chocolate bar on top and add your raspberries.
  11. Enjoy!!

— the Jilb

8 comments

  1. When you hear truffle cake you think something complicated, this is just so simple I don’t usually bake but I think I have to try this over the weekend.


    • Definitely not complicated at all. I think you’ll enjoy it! ๐Ÿ™‚


  2. it tasted like “more”! I’d love me some triple chocolate truffle cake with raspberries right about now – it would make a lovely treat with my mid morning coffee ๐Ÿ™‚


    • So good with coffee! The kids just gobbled it up yesterday, even Bella!


  3. My mouth is watering….I only wish I were there to enjoy a piece too! Yummy!


  4. That cake made me feel like a rich man.


    • Haha. You’re funny.



Leave a Reply

