h1

Whole Wheat Rocky Road Muffins

March 21, 2012

Whole Wheat Rocky Road Muffins. If they’re whole wheat, they’re healthy, right? At least that’s what I like to tell myself.

Reinman and his family told me these muffins taste like CoCo Wheats. Seeing as how I’ve never had CoCo Wheats, I guess I’ll just have to take them at their word. 😉 All I know was that these muffins were yummy. Full of chocolate, marshmallows, and whole wheat goodness, these muffins can’t be beat.

I subbed out the all-purpose flour for whole wheat pastry flour and half the butter for applesauce. You could do all butter or oil if you wanted and stick with the all-purpose flour if that’s your thing.

Whole Wheat Rocky Road Muffins

recipe adapted from 1001 Cupcakes, Cookies, and Other Tempting Treats

Ingredients:

  • 1 & 2/3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 T baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup mini marshmallows
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 T butter, melted and cooled
  • 3 T applesauce
  • 1 cup milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a 12-hole muffin pan with non-stick spray or line with cupcake liners.
  2. In a large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. Mix in sugar, chocolate chips, and marshmallows.
  3. In another bowl, beat eggs. Then beat in the milk, butter, and applesauce.
  4. Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients, and add in your liquid ingredients. Stir gently until just combined. You don’t want to overmix.
  5. Spoon the batter in the muffin pan. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for 5 minutes, and then remove to a wire rack.
  6. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

6 comments

  1. I didn’t feel one bit guilty eating one of these! Thanks, Jill – I will gladly be your baking guinea pig anytime 🙂


  2. …sounds yummy. I grew up on Cocoa Wheats! The name of your cookbook sounds delightful! 🙂


    • Hehe, yes! Thanks for the cookbook! 🙂


  3. WOW, these look and sound delicious. I also pretty much love anything with marshmallows in it. Thanks for posting this!

    Halie


    • Thanks, Halie! I know, I love a good marshmallow recipe. 🙂



Leave a Reply

