h1

Danish Sugar Cookies

March 23, 2012

These cookies are my favorite sugar cookie.

These melt in your mouth, and are so full of sugary goodness that you can’t stop at just one cookie. Trust me I’ve tried. And failed.

This recipe comes from my mom. She tends to make these for holidays. All holidays in fact. Red and pink sprinkles for Valentine’s Day. Green and red for Christmas. Pastel colors for Easter. Mom, I think there may be a problem. ;)

Luckily, we have four little kids who love these cookies, and will eat them anytime they’re made. (And, fine, the adults like them, too. Probably too much.)

These cookies are perfect for Easter (or any holiday as you know). They’re light, fall apart as soon as you take a bite, and are pretty much the best sugar cookie ever.

Danish Sugar Cookies

recipe from my mom (and from one of her cookbooks)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • colored sugar, for garnish

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and set aside.
  2. Beat your shortening and sugar together until well-blended. Add the egg and extracts. Beat again.
  3. Mix in your flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar. Mix until well-blended.
  4. Roll dough into balls, flatten in the colored sugar, and put on your baking sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until edges are light brown.
  5. Let cool on baking sheet for a minute or two, and then move to a wire rack to cool completely.
  6. Enjoy!!

— the Jilb

6 comments

  1. It is a fact that they never last long. I like that you don’t have to roll any dough out but just put them in a ball, dip them in colored sugar and woolah!


    • I know! I love how easy they are!


  2. They look so yummy! I love the blue sprinkles, such a pretty color! Definitely going to have to make these :D


    • Thanks for stopping by! The blue was the kid’s favorites in this house. Very pretty. :)


  3. I want a cookie now.


    • I know! I’m hungry…



Leave a Reply

