h1

Brownie Petit Fours

March 26, 2012

I was looking in The Food Network Magazine (a friend gives me all her old magazines. Thanks, Tania!), and saw they had 50 ways to eat brownies. Oh, boy. Well, one way was to make them into petits fours. That got me thinking right away.

 

In their recipe, they had used just jam. Well, that wasn’t enough for me. I wanted more. So, I did some stuffed with a raspberry sauce, some with peanut butter, some with caramel, and some with a mocha frosting. Oh, my goodness! I definitely gained 5 lbs the day I made these.

I dipped the brownies in a variety of chocolate: milk chocolate, semi-sweet, and white chocolate. And then I decorated them with sprinkles and mini chocolate chips.

(Notice the Baby eyeing up the goodies. I am so thankful she didn’t pull everything off the table. She would have if she could have!)

They were so good, and I made them as easy as I could by using a box brownie mix instead of homemade ones. And I suppose using just one filling and one chocolate to dip them in would have made things easier, but look how fun and yummy they turned out!

The only thing I would change about this recipe is to make the petits fours smaller. The original recipe calls for the brownies to be cut into one inch squares, then layered with a sauce or peanut butter, and then another one inch brownie put on top. After you dip that in chocolate you really have a big brownie petit four, which isn’t bad. But I would like them to be more bite-sized.

Brownie Petit Fours

recipe idea from The Food Network Magazine

Ingredients:

  • 1 brownie box mix (I did a family size dark chocolate brownie mix)
  • egg, oil, and water for brownie mix
  • peanut butter
  • jam or another berry sauce
  • caramel sauce (this is the recipe I use)
  • mocha frosting (1 tsp instant coffee granules, 1 T water, 1/4 cup softened butter, 1/2 cup powdered sugar)
  • chocolate chips for dipping, white, semi-sweet, milk chocolate
  • sprinkles, mini chocolate chips, or whatever you want to decorate with

Directions:

  1. Mix and bake brownies according to box. Let cool completely.
  2. To make mocha frosting: mix your coffee granules and water. Beat in butter and powdered sugar until well-blended.
  3. Set out your other fillings: peanut butter, caramel sauce, berry sauce, and mocha frosting.
  4. Once brownies are completely cool, cut them into one inch squares (or smaller if you want). Take one brownie, put a layer of whatever filling you want on it, and then top with another brownie. Kind of smoosh them together. And I would recommend putting a thick layer of filling between the two brownies. Do this with the rest of your brownies.
  5. Melt your chocolate chips. (I used approximately 4 cups of chocolate chips)
  6. Dip each brownie petit four into the melted chocolate, making sure to scrap any excess off. Decorate with sprinkles or mini chocolate chips (or whatever you have on hand). Let sit for a few minutes, and then I stuck mine in the freezer for 10 minutes to help the hardening process.
  7. Finish with the rest of the petits fours, and keep in the fridge.
  8. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

6 comments

  1. My pants fit a little tighter just from looking at the pictures!


  2. MMmmmm-Chocolate! Problem is, I wouldn’t have been able to decide which filling, so would have had one of each! (just roll me out the door!)


    • I know! I had that problem. Luckily, the rest of the family was okay with sharing them with me. 🙂


  3. The caramel would be my choice!


    • I really liked the mocha. Honestly, I really loved them all! 😉



Leave a Reply

