h1

Individual Whole Wheat Pear Galette

March 28, 2012

I have a thing for sweets. I realize there’s been a lot of dessert recipes on the blog lately. Oops. I’m only a tad bit sorry about that. Friday I’ll have something non-desserty for you. 🙂

These little Pear Galettes were sooo good! I can’t even tell you how fun and yummy they were.

The dough was a tad bit annoying to roll out because I stuck it in the fridge for a few hours, and probably should have left it on the counter to warm up a bit before I rolled it out. But that was my only issue with these galettes, and really the problem was short-lived as you can see. Look at how scrumptious these pear galettes look!

The original recipe called for the dough to be made into one galette, but I thought doing individual ones would be fun. So, you can either do one big galette or 4 individual ones. I also tweaked the original recipe by using whole wheat pastry flour instead of all-purpose and cutting back on the sugar. I found that using whole wheat pastry flour really made the crust taste like those pretzel-shaped Danish Butter Cookies that you can get around Christmas time. I loved this crust! I’m pretty sure I could have eaten only the baked crust and been a very happy girl.

Individual Whole Wheat Pear Galettes

recipe slightly adapted from 365 Days of Baking

Ingredients:

  • 1 & 3/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup white cornmeal
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup cold butter
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk, or 1/3 cup milk mixed with 1 tsp vinegar or lemon juice
  • 2 pears, cored and sliced thin
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 T turbinado sugar, for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix flour, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, cornmeal and salt. Grate in your cold butter using a handheld grater. Mix until your mixture resembles coarse meal. Add in buttermilk and stir until dough mixes together. At this point, I just used my hands to get everything to come together. Wrap dough in plastic wrap, and refrigerate at least 45 minutes (or up to 3 days).
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Get out a pizza stone, and baking sheet, and set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, mix your pears, 1/3 cup granulated sugar, cinnamon and lemon juice.
  4. Remove dough from the fridge and if you want one huge galette just roll your dough out on the pizza stone. If you want individual galettes, divide your dough into 4 balls. Roll out each dough ball into a circle. Then distribute pear mixture onto the middle of each dough circle. Fold edges of dough circle over your pears, and make sure to seal tightly or you could have a mess when baking.
  5. Lightly brush the edge of each of your galettes with the beaten egg and then sprinkle the turbinado sugar on top.
  6. If you haven’t already, move each galette onto your pizza stone (I made my dough circles, and then moved three of them to the pizza stone, filled them with pears, closed them up, and then made my last dough ball into a circle and moved it to the pizza stone. Seemed easiest that way). Put your pizza stone on a baking sheet.
  7. Bake around 45 minutes or so for the individual galettes and an hour for one big galette. The crust should be golden brown, and the filling will be bubbly.
  8. Transfer baking sheet with galette to a wire rack and let cool 20 minutes before eating.
  9. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

4 comments

  1. They sure look good. Being I’m not a fan of pears, I wonder if I could substitute apples? Hmmm.


    • What?! You don’t like pears? Shame…

      Haha. Anyways, yes, I think you could definitely do apples instead. Yum!


  2. These look utterly delicious!


    • Thanks! They were, probably too much so. 😉



Leave a Reply

