h1

Fusilli with Spinach-Nut Pesto

April 11, 2012

As I was browsing another Food Network magazine, I stumbled across this recipe for Fusilli with Spinach-Nut Pesto. I love pesto, and we’ve been eating a ton of spinach, so this pasta meal instantly went on my to-make list.

This dinner did not disappoint. The pesto had a lovely nutty flavor thanks to the peanuts I used. The cherry tomatoes gave it a slight burst of flavor, and the spinach was, well, spinach. I love spinach!

The dinner was a hit with everyone (except for the Princess, but she sure has turned picky in the last few months). This was pretty easy to make, and I have a feeling it’ll become something I can make again and again, subbing out different nuts and maybe adding some parmesan cheese to the pesto.

If you’re looking for something new and healthy to make for dinner, give this Fusilli with Spinach-Nut Pesto a try. You’ll love it!

Fusilli with Spinach-Nut Pesto

recipe slightly adapted from the Food Network magazine

Ingredients:

  • 1-13 oz box of fusilli
  • 1/2 cup of salted roasted peanuts, plus extra for topping
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 6 oz spinach, tough stems removed
  • zest and juice of one lemon
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • freshly ground pepper
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

Directions:

  1. Cook fusilli according to directions on box. Drain and return to the pot.
  2. Make the pesto: Pulse the peanuts and garlic in a food processor (I don’t have a food processor so I used my mini chopper and did this in stages and it worked just fine) until coarsely chopped. Add the spinach in batches, pulsing until chopped. Then add the lemon zest and juice. Then add the olive oil and process until smooth, about a minute. Add salt, and pepper to taste.
  3. Add the pesto and tomatoes to the pot with the pasta. Season with more salt and pepper if you want, and toss.
  4. Divide among bowls, and drizzle with more olive oil, and top with chopped nuts.
  5. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

 

4 comments

  1. Pinning this so I can try it out this summer! 🙂


    • You’ll love it! It’s quite tasty.


  2. I’m pinning it, too – definitely something I would like to make!


    • Let me know how you like it! 🙂



Leave a Reply

