h1

Petite Chocolate Chip Scones

April 13, 2012

I really love scones. Well, I really love any breakfast food, especially if it’s sweet. Muffins. Scones. French Toast Bakes. And honestly, I almost feel the need to have some sort of sweet thing for breakfast every morning.

I found this recipe in an old Food Network Magazine. There’s always good recipes in those magazines.

Back to these scones. They were the perfect, light snack to go with coffee. They’re sweet, but not overly sweet. I love the hint of chocolate that you get from the mini chocolate chips.

They’re really easy to make, and you get 16 petite scones. So, if you make these have some friends over. Or you could freeze half the dough to use another time. Or, in my case, have a bunch of kids who loves scones, and will eat them all. The Baby alone is known to devour many, many scones or whatever breakfast item I make.

Petite Chocolate Chip Scones

recipe adapted from The Food Network Magazine

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 2 T butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk, plus extra for brushing
  • 2 T raw sugar (turbinado sugar), for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and set aside.
  2. Whisk the flours, 1/4 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix in your mini chocolate chips.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together your melted butter, vanilla, and milk.
  4. Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients until combined.
  5. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead until smooth, about a minute, adding more flour if needed.
  6. Divide the dough into 2 balls. Roll out each ball into a 1/2-inch-to-3/4-inch disk.
  7. Move disks to baking sheet. Cut each disk into 8 wedges. Brush milk on top of wedges and sprinkle with raw sugar.
  8. Bake 12-16 minutes or until golden brown. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.
  9. Best eaten immediately.
  10. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

5 comments

  1. I love a scone with a cup of tea in the early evening after dinner.


    • Me too! (But in the morning after a smoothie.)


  2. These look so good and the recipe seems healthy for scones! I will definitely be trying these out soon 🙂


    • I know! I was so happy to find a scone recipe that I wouldn’t feel guilty about eating.

      I’m actually going to post soon about another scone recipe that has strawberries… Mmm.


      • Ooh, I can’t wait for the strawberry one! 🙂 I think my 2 year old will love the chocolate chip one too.



Leave a Reply

