h1

Nutty Butter Cookies

April 23, 2012

It’s Cookie Week here on Reini Days! I looooove cookies. They are my downfall. If I bake them, I will eat them. Unless I give the cookies away, I will eat every stinkin’ yummy one. So, that’s what I did. A few ladies I know had babies and I made them cookies (and, yes, I ate a few).

So, this week will be those recipes. And if you don’t like cookies I’m not sure why you’re visiting our blog. Just kidding! I love you all. 🙂

Up first: Nutty Butter Cookies. Eat one of these cookies and all will be well in the world.

I’m generally not a peanut butter cookie fan because most peanut butter cookies bore me. Not these. These are full of buttery oats, chopped nuts, peanut butter, a taste of honey, and whole wheat pastry flour (which I love, love, love!!)

The nice thing about these cookies? You can sub in whatever nut butter you want, or whatever chopped nuts you have on hand. (The original recipe says that the nut butter and the chopped nuts should be the same kind; i.e. peanut butter and peanuts, or almond butter and almonds.) The possibilities are endless!

These Nutty Butter Cookies are light, crumbly, soft, and full of peanut buttery goodness. Best peanut butter cookie. Ever. Seriously.

Nutty Butter Cookies

recipe adapted from The Food Network Magazine

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened and divided
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted and cooled
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup, plus 2 T whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt
  • 2 T honey
  • 1/2 cup packed dark-brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (or other nut butter)
  • 1/2 cup peanuts, chopped (or other nuts)

Directions:

  1. Melt 1/4 cup butter in a medium-sized saucepan over medium heat. Add oats, and cook, until toasted, about 5-7 minutes. Spread oat mixture over parchment-lined baking sheet. Let cool.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt.
  4. In another bowl, beat together remaining 1/4 cup butter, coconut oil, honey, and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg, and beat again. Add peanut butter, and mix again until well-blended.
  5. Stir in the oat mixture and chopped nuts to the peanut butter mixture and mix well. Add flour mixture, and mix again until all is blended.
  6. Roll dough into 1 1/2-inch balls. Put cookies on a parchment-lined baking sheet about an inch apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until cookies are golden brown. Let cool on pan for a few minutes, and then move to a wire rack.
  7. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

8 comments

  1. Sample at noon please….oh, and what would be the calorie count on one of these little goodies? Any idea? Just want to see if I can eat one or two!!!!! Mom


    • Sorry, Mom. No more cookies (story of my life!). Hehe.


  2. One of my favorite cookie.


    • Me too! They are really, very tasty.


  3. these look exceptionally tempting to the ol’ taste buds!


  4. …these look exceptionally yummy!


  5. i wanted you to really know that twice! ha! quick recovery from a mistake????


    • Haha! You are cracking my up, Miss Faye!!



Leave a Reply

