h1

Oatmeal-Flax Chocolate Chip Cookies

April 25, 2012

These cookies are so healthy and so good for you! Okay, maybe not exactly but a little flaxseed and oatmeal can’t hurt, right?

These Oatmeal-Flax Chocolate Chip Cookies are chewy, fluffy, and full of chocolately goodness. They were a huge hit with my kids, and I’m sure they would be with yours! (And if you don’t have kids, I won’t tell if you eat the whole recipe.)

I know I have a few chocolate chip cookie recipes on this blog, but I honestly don’t mind. Can you ever have too many chocolate chip cookie recipes? I didn’t think so.

So, you know what you need to do. Go. Make these cookies. And then eat them. Before you bake them, first you must try the dough. (If you’re into that sort of thing. I am so into that sort of thing. I LOVE cookie dough.) And then come back and thank me.

Oatmeal-Flax Chocolate Chip Cookies

recipe adapted from The Food Network Magazine

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour (next time I am going to get rid of the AP flour and do all whole wheat. yum!)
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1/4 cup flaxseed, finely ground (I used flaxseed meal)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt
  • 1 tsp instant coffee granules
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted and cooled (you could omit this and add 1/4 cup butter if you want)
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and set aside.
  2. Whisk the flours, oats, flaxseed, baking soda, salt, coffee, and cinnamon in a bowl.
  3. Beat the butter, coconut oil, and sugars until fluffy, about 4 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Add vanilla and beat some more.
  4. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and mix well. Stir in the chocolate chips.
  5. Drop heaping tablespoonfuls of dough onto lined baking sheet, about 2 inches apart. Bake until golden brown, about 10-12 minutes (mine were perfect at 11). Let cookies cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet, and then move to wire racks to cool completely.
  6. Enjoy!!

— the Jilb

8 comments

  1. I love putting flax seed in almost all of my baking, it was great tip from my mom. You are right especially cooking for your kids it doesn’t hurt to add it, they even benefit from it. Guilt-free cookie for you too. Thank you for sharing!


    • I also tend to through a little flaxseed in everything I bake. I rarely even notice the taste or texture of it, and love the added health benefits it gives. 🙂


  2. These sound delicious! Although I’ve never met a chocolate chip cookie I didn’t love. . . I agree that you can put in all whole wheat flour (I use white whole wheat) and they will taste just as good.


    • I know. I don’t think I’ve ever met a chocolate chip cookie I didn’t like either! And there lies in my problem… Heh.


  3. Looks yummy! I’ve never baked with flaxseed before, but will definitely give it a try!


    • Oh you should try baking with it sometime! Flax seed has such good health benefits and I don’t think you can really taste it. (At least my hubby can’t) 🙂


  4. These look amazing!


    • Thanks! They were pretty tasty!



Leave a Reply

