h1

Carrot Oatmeal Cookies

April 27, 2012

To finish off our cookie week I figured I’d give you all something extra healthy: Carrot Oatmeal Cookies. Let me tell just because they’re healthy, doesn’t mean they lack flavor. These cookies are packed with really healthy things like carrots, oats, and walnuts. That mixed with the coconut oil and maple syrup and you really have yourself something. Something tasty, that is.

These Carrot Oatmeal Cookies are like carrot cake in cookie form. They’re soft. They’re nutty. And they’re really, really yummy.

These cookies are also very versatile. You could add in some unsweetened coconut. Lemon zest. Pecans instead of walnuts.

Out of all the sugar-free cookies I’ve tried, these have been my favorite. (And trust me when I say I’ve tried a lot!). Also, I got this recipe from 101 Cookbooks, where there are ton of healthy recipes that I cannot wait to try. Next, I want to try these cookies that are filled with chopped chocolate, bananas (sorry, Mom!), oats, and coconut.

Carrot Oatmeal Cookies

recipe from 101 Cookbooks

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • scant 1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 1 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup real maple syrup, at room temp
  • 1/2 cup unrefined (fragrant) coconut oil, warmed until just melted
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger (I used 1/2 tsp ground ginger)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk your flour, baking powder, salt, and oats together. Mix in your shredded carrots and walnuts.
  3. In a separate smaller bowl, whisk your maple syrup, melted coconut oil, and ginger together. Mix this into your flour mixture and stir until just combined.
  4. Using a tablespoon as a scoop, drop your dough onto the prepared baking sheet, leaving about 2 inches between cookies.
  5. Bake 10-12 minutes or until cookies are golden on top and bottom.
  6. Let cool a minute or two on baking sheet and then move to a wire rack.
  7. I got about 2 dozen cookies.
  8. Enjoy!
20 comments

  1. I was skeptical about trying one and am so glad I let you talk me into eating one because they were suprisingly good, moist cookies!


    • I know, right?! They’re very good.


  2. I want these for breakfast.


    • Yes, you do! πŸ˜‰


  3. These sound so delish! I love variations on the oatmeal cookie. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.


    • I’ve really been into adding oatmeal to all my cookies and muffins lately. It’s so good for you!


      • Yes, it is!


  4. We love carrot cake around here, this looks like a great, healthy alternative! πŸ™‚ Hope you have a great weekend!


    • Thanks! We’re having a night away from our kids, so our weekend will be really nice. πŸ™‚

      Hope you have a nice weekend as well!!


  5. Yum! I have to try these.


    • Let me know if you do and if you like them! πŸ™‚


  6. Thank you for your interest in my crispy grilled avo-cheesy sandwich.

    Wow wow wow, your food looks INCREDIBLE!

    I want to try every recipe I saw in just 5 scrolls of my mouse : )

    Definitely following your site and definitely coming back REGULARLY.

    Thank you.


  7. Yum, I can’t wait to try these. I am thinking of adding raisins πŸ™‚


    • That sounds like a perfect addition!


  8. I was just about to make some carrot cookies. I’ll try your recipe instead of mine -love that it uses coconut oil and oats.


    • Awesome! Let me know how you like them!


  9. […] These cookies didn’t spread out as much as the originals did, but I didn’t really care. They’re really filling, and very, very yummy. And healthy! (As healthy as cookies can be, except for maybe these Carrot Cookies.) […]



Leave a Reply

