h1

Avocado Bacon Parmesan Salad with Tangy Avocado Dressing

May 2, 2012

We’ve been trying to eat more salads. So, anytime I find a salad recipe that I think might be remotely tasty I make a note to add it into our dinner rotation because salads can be so boring. And I hate to be bored when it comes to food.

This Avocado Bacon Parmesan Salad is anything but boring.

This yummy salad recipe comes from Perry’s Plate, a lovely little blog that I stumbled across awhile ago that has really good, healthy recipes.

This salad was delicious! I really, really, really loved the tangy avocado dressing. It was my favorite part. I have a feeling I’ll be using the dressing a lot now. The saltiness of the bacon was a nice contrast to the avocados, and oh, the parmesan cheese! Yum! I used turkey bacon, but I know I will be using real bacon next time. I want the crunch that pork bacon gives you, and the taste. Mmm…

Avocado Bacon Parmesan Salad with Tangy Avocado Dressing

recipe from Perry’s Plate

Ingredient:

For the salad:

  • 1 avocado, peeled, pitted, and chopped up
  • 6 oz. bacon, cooked and chopped up
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 12 oz salad greens

For the dressing:

  • 1/2 an avocado, peeled, pitted, and cut into large chunks
  • 3 T sour cream
  • 3 T low-fat mayo
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. For the dressing: Put all dressing ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth. Add salt and pepper.
  2. Put salad in a bowl, layer with bacon and avocado, top with dressing and cheese. Enjoy!
  3. This dressing makes enough for two salads. It’ll keep in the fridge for 2-3 days in an airtight container or you can just double your salad ingredients.
  4. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

12 comments

  1. The avocado/bacon combination sounds tasty. (I love both.) Thanks for sharing!


    • I know! We’ve been eating a lot of avocado lately, and I can’t help but wonder why I wasn’t before! 🙂


  2. Looks yummy.. I will give it a try


    • Let me know how you like it if you do!


  3. Wow, avocado dressing plus bacon…yummy, can’t wait to try it!


  4. Avocados are on killer sale here right now and are included in practically every meal next week in some fashion or form. I wonder if I can squeeze this in…it sounds delicious. 🙂


    • Oh, that’s nice! Ours aren’t on-sale right now but I bet they will be soon! And I’ve heard that you can freeze avocados, which is really a great idea…


      • I’ve never heard of freezing avocado before!! Awesome tip!


      • I know! I haven’t tried it yet, but am excited to!


  5. Mmmm. Bacon and avocado. Perfect pair.



Leave a Reply

