h1

Whole Wheat Strawberry and Almond Scones

May 4, 2012

I’ve got another scone recipe for you all. I’m kind of obsessed with scones,Β  maybe even more than cookies. (Okay, that’s probably a lie!).

These Whole Wheat Strawberry Almond Scones are the perfect breakfast treat. The almonds give off a really nice nutty taste. These scones are light and crumbly, bursting with strawberry flavor.

I don’t feel a bit bad eating one or two of these considering they’re sugar-free, full of oats and whole wheat flour, with a mix of almonds and flax seed meal and you’re pretty much ready to go. (Don’t mind all the butter– we’ll pretend it’s not there. Fat is good in moderation, right? And I suppose technically these aren’t sugar free because I sprinkled some raw sugar on top before baking but you could easily leave that part out and sprinkle more oats instead).

Whole Wheat Strawberry and Almond Scones

recipe slightly adapted from The Little Red House

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 6 T milk, plus more for brushing
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 2 & 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed (I used flax seed meal)
  • 1 & 1/2 T baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 11 T unsalted butter, cold
  • 1 cup strawberries, diced
  • raw sugar, for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk your maple syrup, 6 T milk, and almond extract together. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together your flour, oats, almonds, flax seed, baking powder and salt. Grate in your cold butter with a hand grater or put everything in a food processor and pulse until you get coarse crumbs.
  4. Add your maple syrup mixture to the flour. Mix until you get a dough. If you need more milk, now is the time to add it. I added about an extra tablespoon of milk and that seemed to bring the dough together.
  5. Mix in your strawberries, being careful not to overmix.
  6. Put the dough on a floured surface and knead a time or two until you get the dough to come together. Put your dough onto your lined baking sheet and either make it into a circle and cut into even-sized pieces or do what I did and make your dough into a rectangle and cut into rectangles.
  7. Brush the tops of your scones with a little bit of milk and sprinkle with raw sugar or more oats.
  8. Bake 20-25 minutes or until baked all the way through.

— the Jilb

This recipe has been shared on Justa’s Fantastic Frugal Foods Link-Up! πŸ™‚

25 comments

  1. Love, love, love those scones.


  2. Looks great!


  3. I love the additions of flaxseed and almonds, will have to pick some up so I can make these πŸ™‚ We have tons of strawberries in our house right now, and I’ve been trying to figure out what to bake with them, this was perfect timing! Hope you have a great weekend!


    • Awesome! Let me know how you like them! πŸ™‚

      Hope you have a great weekend, too! πŸ™‚


  4. I love home made scones. Strawberries look so beautiful and tastes so sweet this season in San Diego.

    I’m gonna have to head over to a friend’s kitchen to borrow their oven so I can make these!

    I love your blog : )


  5. Thanks! I’m glad you enjoy it. πŸ™‚

    I know! We love, love, love strawberries.


  6. I will leave this on my wife’s desk. She is the baker in the family. I hope she takes the hint. These look great, I think I can smell them baking.


    • Let me know how you like them! πŸ™‚


  7. Yum! These look great–I’ll need to try them out!


  8. I am pinning this and going to use it for some of the pounds and pounds of strawberries I just bought. One question…I don’t have Flax seed. Should I increase the flour? Maybe grind up some almonds? Or add more oats? Which direction would you take?


    • I’m so jealous of everybody that has tons of strawberries!!

      Gosh, all those sound like good ideas. I probably would just add a little bit more flour, but I’m boring like that. πŸ™‚


      • Thanks! I’ll let you know how they turn out!


      • Please do!


  9. Thank you for bringing this to my party!! I can’t wait to try these!


  10. Mmmm – these look yummy!


  11. These look so good! I am opening a bed and breakfast in Virginia so I am always looking for some good recipes! Thanks!


    • Glad you like them! They’re pretty tasty! πŸ™‚


  12. I wonder if I can make these substituting almond flour or walnut flour for the whole wheat


    • You know, I’m not sure. I would say it would be fine, but I haven’t tried it so I can’t say for sure.


      • I think I tried a version of this recipe with almond flour, and they were good but too moist. Cut back the liquid a bit and you should be in good shape.


      • Thanks for chiming in! I love almond flour, so I’ll have to give it a try that way. πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

