h1

Iced Coffee

May 9, 2012

This Iced Coffee recipe comes from The Pioneer Woman. When I first saw this recipe last year, I thought, “Genius!” I love getting iced coffees and iced lattes from coffee shops, but boy does it add up. Making your own is wonderful for your wallet, and it also tastes awesome! (I’ve come to find I prefer my own iced coffees to the coffee shops.)

This is really easy to make. All you do is put your coffee grounds in a water pitcher, add 9 cups of water, stir and let it sit overnight. That’s basically it.

I didn’t change the recipe at all, except to make the amounts smaller. If you need some add-in ideas for your coffee, PW has some on her blog. So yummy!

Pioneer Woman’s Iced Coffee

recipe from PW

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups ground coffee
  • 9 cups water
  • milk, sugar, cream, whatever you want to add to your coffee

Directions:

  1. Put your coffee in a water pitcher and add your water. Give it was a mix and then let it sit overnight on your counter. (I try not to let my coffee sit out more than 12-13 hours or it can get bitter.)
  2. Line a mesh strainer with cheesecloth and set over a container or another pitcher. Pour coffee/water mixture through the strainer, allowing all the liquid to run through. Throw away the grounds.
  3. Place coffee in fridge and allow to get cold.
  4. To make iced coffee: Fill a glass with ice, and pour as much coffee and other add-ins as you want. I usually do half coffee, half milk. If I’m feeling adventurous, I might add a little chocolate syrup.
  5. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

23 comments

  1. Havent been able to make a decent iced coffee at home – cant wait to try this !


    • Then you will love this! It’s wonderful.


  2. I was JUST reading PW’s latest post right before I read this ๐Ÿ™‚ I love Ree!

    Have you tried her Apple Brown Betty recipe? So easy, so delicious. With a scoop or (or two) of vanilla ice cream, it’s divine!


    • I know, I love Ree, too!!

      I haven’t tried that, but it sounds like I need too!!!


  3. I remember seeing this on her TV show, where she pours the condensed milk inside and it looked so amazing! I’m going to make this for my husband this summer, he loves iced coffee! Do you know how long the coffee is good for in the fridge?


    • Yeah, I’ve tried that but usually try to stick to something lighter like milk. It did last amazing though!!

      I’d say a week, if not two. If it lasts that long. ๐Ÿ˜‰


  4. I will have to share this with my sister. She loves coffee in all variations!


  5. I bet she’ll love it!


  6. Perfect timing! I pretty much gave up coffee many years ago except for the occasional cup of Santa’s White Christmas (from Barney’s Coffee) that I purchase around the holidays and keep in the freezer. Somewhere along the way I started the awful habit of drinking a Pepsi in the morning. I’ve been telling myself for weeks I need to find a good cold drink that will wake me up in the morning. I’m doing this tonight and will test it out tomorrow morning!


    • I know how you feel. I used to drink a ton of Diet Coke, but have pretty much given it up except for a can here or there. That stuff is so awful for you, but tastes so good!

      I think you’ll love iced coffee. The nice thing is, is that you can put whatever you want in it, milk, heavy cream, half and half, sweetened condensed milk…


      • Life took me away from blogging for a while so I’m getting caught up on what everyone has been up to while I was away…wanted to let you know I’ve been enjoying this all week long and have my second batch “brewing” now! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been very naughty with it but it’s oh. so. good! I spoon a little sweetened condensed milk in the bottom of my glass, thin it with a little milk (the ice siezes it up so I thin it first), add ice, coffee then top with another splash of milk then gently stir. It is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you for sharing and bringing to my attention!


      • I’m glad you’re back! ๐Ÿ™‚

        I make one or two batches of this a week, and it is so good! I’m glad you enjoy it as well. I should try it with the sweetened condensed milk. I bet it’s wonderful!! ๐Ÿ™‚


  7. I’ve made this in the past and Love it! It’s soo easy, cheap and tasty ๐Ÿ™‚ I make a creamer for mine with evaporated and condensed milk and add some caramel syrup = delish!


    • I know. I love it, too. So good!

      That creamer sounds wonderful! I’ll have to make some for myself for a treat!


  8. I am going to try to cold brew my coffee for summer. I usually brew a pot and put it in the fridge. My iced coffee still tastes good, but I am excited to try the difference with the cold brew.


    • I bet you’ll love it!


  9. […] Homemade Iced Coffee? […]


  10. Got an update for you on my last batch of coffee…the last batch I made was my prized Santa’s White Christmas (from Barney’s Coffee) that I keep in the freezer and only use on special ocassions or when it’s absolutely freezing here. It’s flavored with White Chocolate, Almonds, Coconut and a few other things. I thought it would make a great flavored iced coffee. It was a total failure. I’m not sure if “flavored” coffee’s need to be hot brewed to make their flavors come out or what but this batch was so awfully bitter after a few sips the entire batch went down the sink. Just a head’s up if you try a flavored brand…and if you do, and you have success, be sure to let me know so I can give it a try! ๐Ÿ™‚


    • We don’t do a whole lot of flavored coffees anymore so this is good to know.

      Sorry it didn’t turn out for you. Sounds like it should have been good! If I do try it, I’ll let you know. I’m kinda curious now..


  11. […] gallon of iced coffee. Perfect for the hot weather we’re going to have this […]


  12. […] This is something you need to make right away. Seriously. Best drink ever. Okay, second best drink ever. Nothing beats Iced Coffee. […]


  13. […] iced coffee […]


  14. […] iced coffee […]



Leave a Reply

