h1

Raspberry Loaf Cake

May 16, 2012

Ever since I saw this recipe for Iced Raspberry Loaf Cake a few months ago, I really, really wanted to make it. I finally got to it last week, and am so glad I did!

I spent a ton of time trying to figure out how to make an icing that didn’t contain powdered sugar. Well, I tried a few different things and nothing turned out exactly how I planned so I left the icing off. And you know what? I don’t think this cake needs any icing. The raspberries, honey, and sugar make this cake sweet enough. Although if someone knows of a good icing or glaze recipe that doesn’t contain refined sugar I’d love to hear about it.


This cake (or maybe it could be called a bread?) was perfect for our mid-morning coffee break. I also think it would be great for dessert, a snack, or pretty much whenever you wanted it. It was really easy to make, sort of healthy because I cut most of the sugar out and added in more whole wheat flour, and most importantly it was a crowd-pleaser with the Baby eating three pieces.

Raspberry Loaf Cake

recipe adapted from Martha Stewart

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup bread flour (or all-purpose flour, or maybe even whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1/2 tsp instant yeast
  • 1/2 tsp coarse salt
  • 2 T ground flax seed
  • 2/3 cup sour cream or Greek yogurt
  • 2 T butter, melted
  • 3 large eggs, plus 3 large egg yolks, at room temp
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup raspberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat a loaf pan with non-stick spray, line it with parchment paper, and lightly coat again.
  2. In a small bowl, stir together flours, yeast, salt, and the flax seed. In a separate bowl, whisk together sour cream and butter.
  3. In a large bowl, beat eggs, yolks, sugar, honey, and vanilla with an electric mixer on medium speed until pale and thick, about 6 minutes. With a large rubber spatula, fold in flour mixture until all is well incorporated, then fold in raspberries, being careful not to overmix. Pour batter into pan.
  4. Bake 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into center of cake comes out clean, rotating the pan halfway through.
  5. Let cake cool in pan on a wire rack at least 20 minutes. Remove cake from pan and let cool completely on wire rack.
  6. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

13 comments

  1. This looks perfect on its own, even without a glaze! I’m loving all the berries that are coming into season now ๐Ÿ™‚


    • Thanks!

      Yeah, I know! We all love berries in this house. Yum!


  2. Love to try your recipe it looks good.


    • Let me know if you do! ๐Ÿ™‚


  3. This looks absolutely delicious! I love raspberries in any form. I made a raspberry loaf cake not too long ago, and it turned out seriously tasty. I might try out this one too, SO good!


    • I love raspberries, too. They’re so darn tasty!

      You can never have too many cake recipes! ๐Ÿ˜‰


  4. Yum! Sounds awesome! I tried my hand at baking today… It did not go as well as this. My oven committed suicide (http://aminerecipes.com/2012/05/18/carob-cupcakes/)! I think I’m not supposed to be a baker. But recipes like this make me want to be!

    Michelle F
    Low Amine Recipes
    http://aminerecipes.com


    • It’s pretty tasty. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Don’t let that bad experience scare you away from baking. You can create so many yummy things when you bake, and I bet some healthy ones too!


      • That’s the trick for me is finding healthy options… I look at desserts and they go to my middle, so I have to choose very carefully. That, compounded with my allergies means a heck of a lot of modifications to recipes! ๐Ÿ™‚


  5. I’m the same way. I have a hard time not eating all the sweet things I make. So, we’ve cut back a lot and I’ve been subbing in maple syrup or honey in place of sugar in a lot of my recipes, which has helped.


  6. That cake looks delicious without any icing! I love fresh fruit in my bread and I have never made raspberry bread. I’m adding it to my TO DO list!


    • Yay! I hope you love it. I also love fresh fruit in breads. So tasty!!


  7. […] fruit in breads, or cakes, or muffins, is like, the best thing ever. […]



Leave a Reply

