h1

Mini Whole Wheat Pancake Muffins

May 21, 2012

Umm… so, these are amazing. Really, really tasty. We love pancakes in this house, but when you have to make pancakes for 6 people and those people will eat as many pancakes as they have fingers, making them doesn’t always sound that fun. So, I came across this recipe for pancake muffins, and knew right away that we had to try them out.

These Pancake Muffins were a giant hit. And it wasn’t just because I threw in some chocolate chips. Okay, maybe it was. Chocolate makes everything better.

I should mention these do taste like a pancake in muffin form. And I made them mini because anything small is so cute. Plus, I feel better eating three or four of something smaller, than eating even one normal-sized muffin.

Mini Whole Wheat Pancake Muffins

recipe slightly adapted from Baked Bree

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 T sugar
  • 2/3 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 T pure maple syrup
  • 2 T butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4-1/2 cup chocolate chips (sometimes I do a 1/4, sometimes I do 1/2 depending on how chocolatey I want things)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a mini muffin pan and set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together your flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, and sugar.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together your buttermilk, egg, maple syrup, butter, and vanilla extract.
  4. Pour your wet ingredients into your dry ingredients and mix until well-combined. Mix in your chocolate chips.
  5. Put about a tablespoon of muffin batter into each mini muffin cup. I usually get around 18-24 muffins depending on how much I fill them.
  6. Bake 15-17 minutes or until muffins are golden brown, and spring back when lightly touched.
  7. Enjoy!!

— the Jilb

9 comments

  1. Great idea for that quick breakfast on the run.


  2. i was just going to start looking for a new recipe to take camping, these might be perfect!


    • I think they would be! They stay fresh for a few days, and are, of course, delicious! 🙂


  3. Wow, this sounds like a great idea!! They are so cute too in miniature form 🙂 I’m definitely going to give these a try!


    • They’re really fun. We make them like once a week. 🙂


  4. This is nothing short of brilliant…pancakes are my second favorite food (next to muffins of course!) these would be the best of both worlds!


    • I know, right?! I love them. I think I’ll have to make them for breakfast tomorrow. Told you I was obsessed with muffins. 😉 hehe


  5. […] I had an amazing cinnamon sugar buttermilk spice cupcake from Sprinkles in Chicago!  When I saw Reini Days post this recipe for pancake muffins, I thought I would combine the best of both worlds…a […]



Leave a Reply

