h1

The Week That Was: Cookie Edition

May 22, 2012

This past week all I did was bake cookies. And frost cookies. And eat cookies. Seriously. And I loved it.

With the help of a couple of girls, we made around 150 cookies for my sister-in-law’s bridal shower. We did cookies cut out in the shapes of flowers, the letter “J”, the letter “M”, and the letter “K.” It was a lot of work, but so worth it, and so fun!
20120520-144120.jpg

The recipe I used was from The Sweet Adventures of Sugar Belle. This is now my go-to cut out sugar cookie recipe. I’ll be using it again next week because we have a couple birthdays coming up and there has been a request for a certain caped crusader in cookie form. So, more pictures of that to come in a week or two. If you’re interesting in exactly what recipe I used here’s the link to the sugar cookie, and then here’s the link to the royal icing. They were a lot easier to make than I thought they would be.

20120520-144134.jpg

20120520-144144.jpg

20120520-144155.jpg

20120520-144549.jpg

20120520-144556.jpg

20120520-144605.jpg

— the Jilb

9 comments

  1. You have turned into a “mini me”! Love it. Good job. I know how much time and effort it took making and decorating all those cut-outs…..I’ll keep you in mind for Christmas this year!


    • Yep– mini you! Haha, That’s for sure.

      I loved making these. I’m excited to make some more next week. And I think those will be more of an adventure!

      Umm… I would love to help you out during Christmas, but I know what you’re thinking, and no, I don’t want to do all your cut-outs! Haha. šŸ˜‰


  2. Wow, that’s a lot of cookies!! I’m sure your sister-in-law was so touched by all the work that went into making them šŸ™‚ I’m always on the lookout for a good sugar cookie recipe, but I’ve never made the royal icing for decorating…it’d be fun to do with the kids!


    • I know! It was fun though, and I would love to do it again.

      The cookies were really good. They had a shortbread taste, and weren’t too sweet, which was nice because the icing was sweet. šŸ™‚


  3. Beautiful AND delicious!


  4. Thank you so much for all your hard work, Jill! I loved those cookies. I especially liked the flowers. So cute!


    • You are so welcome! It was my pleasure! Love ya!


  5. […] figured I would decorate these like I did the last sugar cookies I made, which was to pipe an outline, flood the cookie with royal icing and then once that was dry […]



Leave a Reply

