h1

Raspberry Cheesecake Bars

May 28, 2012

Happy Memorial Day to you all! We’ve got a day with the kids, maybe some grilling if it’s nice out (it seems to always rain in MN on Memorial Day), and Reinman has a few softball games to finish the day off.

What I’ve got for you today is another dessert recipe. I really, really love sweets. I was able to make these without sugar, which made me very happy. Ever since we’ve cut out sugar (or at least cut wayyyyy down) I’ve been feeling so much better during the day, less tired, less crabby, and I have a lot more energy.

So, about these bars. They are excellent. If you like raspberries, you will love these. If you like cheesecake, you will love these. I even added a little lemon zest on the top of the bars, which gives them a nice zing.

Make these guys for your next party (unless you want to eat them all yourself! no judging from me!) and you will be a hit. I brought them to a school party for the Princess and they were gone in a flash.

Raspberry Cheesecake Bars

recipe adapted from My Kitchen Snippets

Ingredients:

for the graham cracker crust:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup honey

for the cheesecake layer:

  • 2 packages (8 oz each) low-fat cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 & 1/2 T flour
  • 3 T lemon juice
  • 2 eggs

for the raspberry layer:

  • 1/2 cup raspberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 T honey
  • 2 T water
  • 1/2 tsp lemon zest

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a 8×8 baking dish with parchment paper and lightly grease it.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together your flour, cinnamon, baking powder, and baking soda. In another bowl, mix together your melted butter and honey. Add honey butter to your flour mixture and mix until all ingredients are well-incorporated. Pat your graham cracker crumbs into the bottom of your baking dish and bake for 7-10 minutes or until middle is firm. Let cool. Turn oven down to 325 degrees.
  3. In a large bowl, beat your cream cheese, honey, flour, and lemon juice until mixed together. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition. Pour over crust.
  4. In a small saucepan, add your raspberries, honey, water, and lemon zest, cooking over low heat for 5-10 minutes until raspberries are broken down. Remove from heat and puree them in a blender or a food processor. Gently drop spoonfuls of the raspberry puree over the cheesecake layer. Cut through batter several times with a knife to get the swirl effect. I then sprinkled another teaspoon of lemon zest of the bars, but that’s optional.
  5. Bake at 325 for 40 minutes or until the center is set. Let cool, and then refrigerate at least 4 hours (I did overnight) before cutting.
  6. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

6 comments

  1. These look and sound perfect! My kids will love them. I will file this away for when my raspberry bush starts producing berries.


    • I bet your kids will love them! 🙂

      I’m so jealous you have a raspberry bush!


      • Don’t be jealous. I have to fight birds, squirrels, rabbits, and chipmunks to get a bowl full of berries. It can be quite stressful!


      • Well that doesn’t sound that much fun. But, oh, the fresh berries! 🙂


  2. I’ve been craving cheesecake non-stop this pregnancy…this looks amazing and I love that there’s no sugar!


    • You will love this! Perfect for summer, and for prego mamas. 🙂



Leave a Reply

