h1

Breakfast Burritos

June 8, 2012

I saw this post on Money Saving Mom awhile ago, and it’s been on the back of my mind for months that I needed to make these. I finally got to it about a few weeks ago, and, boy, I am so glad I did. We’ve had these Breakfast Burritos a few times, and every time we have them there’s no talking at the table, only lots of eating. That makes this mom very happy.

I find that it can be difficult to find something that all my kids love to eat. These Breakfast Burritos are eaten by everyone, and they always ask for more!

This time around I did eggs, cheese, and breakfast sausage for my ingredients, but you can easily use whatever you have on hand. We also like them with ham, onions, peppers, hamburger. Pretty much whatever you like, you can add. I love versatile recipes!

This recipe will make 10 burritos, but you can easily double that and freeze them, which I plan to do next time.

If you want an easy, healthy breakfast option, give these Breakfast Burritos a try.

Breakfast Burritos

recipe slightly adapted from Money Saving Mom

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup breakfast sausage, cooked (or other meat)
  • 1 T butter
  • 9 eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1 cup shredded cheese, plus more for topping
  • 10 flour tortillas

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Get out a 9×13 baking dish.
  2. In a large pan, melt butter over medium heat.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk eggs and milk together. When pan is hot, add your egg mixture. Cook until eggs are done.
  4. Mix in your sausage, salt, and pepper with your eggs.
  5. Mix in cheese until melted.
  6. Scoop 1/2 cup egg mixture onto tortillas. Fold ends under and roll up. Put in baking dish. (I got about 6 tortillas in my baking dish and froze the rest).
  7. Sprinkle extra cheese on burritos and bake for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly.
  8. Enjoy!

Freezer Directions:

  1. Wrap burrito in a paper towel, and then in a sheet of foil. Seal tightly and put in a freezer bag. When bag is full, remove all air, seal, and then freeze.
  2. When you want to eat them, remove foil and put burrito (with paper towel still on) in microwave. Heat for around a minute.
  3. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

9 comments

  1. Genius idea!! My family will love this one…thanks! 🙂


    • You’re welcome!! 🙂


  2. Also a good “brinner” option! They sound delicios!


    • “delicious” (geesh…too fast to hit the comment button!)


      • Haha, yeah, that’s happened to me before. I’ve edited a comment I left earlier on my blog like 5 times today. Heh.

        Love “brinner”!


  3. We did the frozen breakfast burrito thing about a month ago. It was great. We found we needed to microwave the burrito 1 min on one side, flip it and zap it for another 30 sec. Mmmm….burrito….


    • Aren’t they great?! I found I have to make a TON of burritos to have any leftover to freeze. We like to eat. 🙂


      • Yeah, I cooked 24 burritos one night at the same time as I cooked dinner.


      • Ooh, making burritos while cooking dinner sounds like a great idea!



Leave a Reply

