h1

Rosemary and Garlic Slow-Roasted Almonds

June 13, 2012

A few weeks ago, one of my favorite food blogs, Foodie with Family, came up with this recipe for Rosemary and Garlic Slow-Roasted Almonds. I immediately printed off the recipe, and then I even left a tab up with the recipe so I wouldn’t forget to make these. They looked so wonderful, I really could not resist.

I usually am not one to eat almonds. I don’t know why but they’re probably my least favorite nut. But when I saw the combo of the rosemary and garlic, my interest was peaked.

So, I got the few things I needed to make them, and set to roasting almonds in the middle of the day, even though our temps outside were in the 70s.

And let me tell you, these are probably the best snack ever! They were so addicting. I could not keep myself from sneaking an almond every time I walked by the oven.

These are my new go-to snack. I’m not afraid to admit that Reinman and I ate half the batch the night they were done.

These almonds will be going everywhere with me from now on. They’re perfect to have in my purse, or when I go to the movies, or to the beach. I can’t wait!

If you make these, I bet you will love them as much as we do.

Rosemary and Garlic Slow-Roasted Almonds

recipe from Foodie with Family

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups whole, raw almonds (out of the shell)
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed or minced
  • 1 tsp kosher or sea salt
  • 3/4 tsp dried rosemary, crumbled between fingers to break into smaller pieces

Directions:

  1. Toss everything in a large bowl until evenly mixed. Pour the nuts onto a rimmed baking sheet and make sure they are in a single layer.
  2. Put in a cold oven and set temperature to around 170 degrees. Roast overnight (or around 8 hours) or until the oil is absorbed, and nuts appear matte.
  3. Remove from oven, cool nuts completely and store in a canning jar or another container with an airtight lid. If the seasonings fall off you can just put the seasonings in the jar as well.
  4. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

4 comments

  1. Sounds like a great, healthy snack!!


    • They are! My kids even gobbled them up!


  2. YUM YUM YUM!



Leave a Reply

