h1

Real Popcorn Chicken

June 15, 2012

I made this Popcorn Chicken last week and was in awe. Why had I never thought of using popcorn before in coating chicken strips? Well, that has changed and I’m never going back!

The popcorn gives the chicken a nice little crunch. I really also liked the flavor from the thyme. I don’t use it that much, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. It was good!

These are cooked on the stove instead of in the oven, which I like, especially since it’s been getting warmer out. I hate to turn on my oven during the summer, and since I love to bake, that’s a tough thing.

Real Popcorn Chicken

recipe from Parents Magazine

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups popped popcorn
  • 1 T fresh thyme
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T water
  • 3 T whole wheat flour
  • 1 lb. skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 1 T butter
  • 1 T olive oil

Directions:

  1. Remove any unpopped popcorn kernels from popcorn. Put the popcorn in a food processor and pulse until coarsely ground. Place the popcorn in a shallow dish, along with the thyme, salt, and pepper.
  2. In another shallow dish, add the egg and water, and beat lightly with a fork.
  3. In another shallow dish, place the flour.
  4. Dredge the chicken in the flour, shaking off an excess, then the egg mixture, and then the popcorn mixture to coat.
  5. Put the butter and oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and cook 10-12 minutes or until fully cooked. Turn occasionally to brown.
  6. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

 

3 comments

  1. Haha, love it! Never thought about how popcorn chicken could be literally so!


    • I know!! šŸ™‚


  2. Fun!



Leave a Reply

