h1

Thai Chicken Wraps with Spicy Peanut Sauce

June 27, 2012

I made these chicken wraps a few weeks ago and really enjoyed them (and so did the Baby and the Joker). I was looking for something different to eat, and found it. We haven’t been big on Thai food in this house, except for this Thai Noodle Salad and I’m hoping to change that.

These chicken wraps are full of wonderfully healthy things like cucumber, carrots, bean sprouts, chicken, and some herbs. And I really love the peanut sauce. It was spicy, but not to the point where I wouldn’t give it to my kids because I was afraid it would be too hot for them.

Thai Chicken Wraps with Spicy Peanut Sauce

recipe adapted from Rachael Ray

Ingredients:

  • 3 chicken breasts
  • 1 T soy sauce
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 T grill seasoning

for the salad:

  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled, halved lengthwise, and thinly sliced at an angle
  • 2 cups fresh bean sprouts
  • 1 cup carrots, shredded
  • 12 basil leaves, chopped or torn
  • 3 T mint leaves, chopped
  • 1 T sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 T rice wine vinegar
  • salt, to taste

spicy peanut sauce:

  • 1/4 cup smooth peanut butter, at room temp
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 1 T rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 4 (12-inch) flour tortilla wraps

Directions:

  1. I threw in my chicken breasts in a crockpot along with the 1 T soy sauce, 1 T EVOO, and 1 T grill seasoning, on low for 6 hours until they were cooked through. Otherwise, you could toss chicken with the soy sauce, EVOO and grill seasoning and grill chicken until done.
  2. Then toss cucumber, bean sprouts, carrots, basil, mint, sesame seeds, sugar, and rice wine vinegar in a large bowl. Season salad with salt, to taste. Add in chicken.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk peanut butter, soy sauce, vinegar, cayenne pepper, and EVOO until well-blended.
  4. Pile chicken and veggies in wraps and drizzle with peanut sauce before wrapping and rolling.
  5. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

14 comments

  1. I absolutely love thai peanut sauce, and can’t wait to make your homemade version! I bet this would go great with tofu too! Your kids have such sophisticated palates πŸ™‚


    • Sometimes they’ll eat it, and sometimes they won’t. I usually at least have them try whatever we’re eating, and sometimes feel like if they’re hungry enough they’ll eat it. πŸ™‚


      • That’s great! I agree…if I don’t give Malia snacks, she tries so many more foods than when she gets snacks in between meals!


      • Right! And with our oldest, she knows she doesn’t get treats or snacks if she doesn’t eat/try what’s on her plate. The rest of the kids usually will eat whatever…


      • Is it the oldest that’s the hardest? I’m hoping so…Malia is so picky, and I’m hoping this next one will just go with the flow πŸ™‚


      • For us, it is. Emma can be really picky, even at times with stuff I know she likes. The others are usually really good eaters though. Not sure if it’s an age thing, a personality thing or because she’s the oldest. Maybe a little of everything.


  2. Looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing – I love peanut sauce πŸ™‚


    • Thanks! I love peanut sauce, too. πŸ™‚


  3. Rachel Ray annoys the heck out of me, but I have to admit–she’s got some pretty awesome recipes. This looks yummy!


    • You know, I never noticed how annoying she could be until my husband pointed it out. Now, if I have time I like to watch just the end of her daytime show to get the recipes. LOL.

      She does have good food though!


      • My mom gave me a copy of 365: No Repeats, and it’s nice because I can cook her recipes without actually having to listen to her. πŸ™‚

        (And my husband was the one who made me realize she was annoying, too.)


  4. A cookbook is a good idea! I know she has a ton of those out there. I don’t know how she does it all. I wonder if she actually writes all her own recipes?


  5. Wow. Those look tasty!



Leave a Reply

