h1

Strawberry Spinach Salad with Sesame Seed Vinaigrette

July 2, 2012

I’ve got a classic for you. Strawberry Spinach Salad. The first time I made this was a few weeks ago. I don’t know why I waited so long.

I always seem to have spinach on hand because of the smoothies so I make, and since strawberries are really good right now, this recipe is a no brainer. That along with a homemade poppy seed vinegarette, and you’re good to go!

Strawberry Spinach Salad with Sesame Seed Vinaigrette

recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

For the Vinaigrette:

  • 1 T sesame seeds
  • 1/2 T poppy seeds
  • 2 T honey
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 T distilled white vinegar
  • 1/8 tsp paprika
  • 1/8 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 T minced onion

For the salad:

  • 9 oz bag of fresh spinach
  • 1 quart strawberries, sliced
  • 1/4 cup almonds, sliced

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together all your vinaigrette ingredients. Cover, and chill for one hour.
  2. In a large bowl, toss the spinach, strawberries, and almonds. Pour dressing over salad (I always start with a little bit of a dressing at a time to make sure I don’t get too much), toss, and refrigerate for 10-15 minutes before serving.
  3. Enjoy!

— the Jilb

16 comments

  1. This looks like the perfect salad! Can’t wait to try it!


    • Thanks! It’s pretty fantastic! I think you’ll love it!


  2. This sounds wonderful. I´ve just recently discovered fresh spinach (not the frozen kind) and I wil ldefinitely try this recipe.


    • Try throwing some fresh spinach in a strawberry/banana smoothie. Yum!

      We’ve been trying to do more salads, and this one does not disappoint.


      • Spinach in a smoothie – this idea has never crossed my mind, but definitely worth a try. Thanks!


      • This is my go-to smoothie recipe that I make 4-5 times a week: https://reinidays.wordpress.com/2012/03/12/berry-green-smoothie/

        It’s so good, and you would never know there’s spinach in it! Mmm…


  3. Fresh fruits were on our minds today! The Vinaigrette sounds tasty, poppy seeds and sesame, brilliant! I’ll have to try it this week, I have one more peach left! LOL


    • I know! Fresh fruit recipes are everywhere! It’s almost too hot to do much else. (Although the heat never really stops me from baking…)


  4. Yum! Looks good!


  5. Looks so refreshing! Nice and light for this ridiculous weather! The almonds sound like a great addition.


    • I know! It’s been so hot here, so light things are what I want.


  6. I LOVE spinach and strawberry salads. I like to crumble a bit of tangy goat cheese on top, too. Soooooo delish! ~Ruth


    • Oooh, I like the idea of goat cheese! (or any cheese for that matter!)


  7. This looks so yummy!

    http://wadswords.wordpress.com/



Leave a Reply

